Tutor HuntSubjectsGeography Tutors

Tamara

Tamara
Tamara
Tutor
Watford, London
Home Town: Watford
Member Since: 30/08/2016
Last Login: 1 day ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 20 hours

My Qualifications

GCSE
Pearson Edexcel International GCSE
Biology
B  (2015)
GCSE
Pearson Edexcel International GCSE
English Language
C  (2015)
GCSE
Pearson Edexcel International GCSE
Mathematics
c  (2015)
BSc
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Univeristy
Nature Conservation
2.1  (2005)
HND
Cape Technikon
Nature Conservation
B  (2003)
A Level
Good Hope Seminary High School
English
C  (1992)
A Level
Good Hope Seminary High School
Afrikaans
C  (1992)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Tamara
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Tamara

I have a degree in Ecology and Conservation (BSc Hon), which I acquired in South Africa. I have lived in the UK for almost 17 years. This is my 12th year working in education and my specialist subject is Geography. I am confident supporting students learning in Geography, Biology English and Maths (from KS1 to GCSE); and A-Level Geography and Biology. Furthermore, I have experience preparing students for a range of exams (11+; 13+ SATS and GCSE). I have experience teaching, mentoring and supporting students with various barriers to learning, including dyslexia, autism, hearing impaired, epilepsy and mental health issues.

I am currently employed as a Cover Supervisor in a Secondary school. This is my 7th year in this position. I am frequently asked to cover lessons in the above mentioned subjects, sometimes, including long-term cover. I work regularly with students that need additional support to improve their grades in the Sciences and Maths (Years 7-11). Also, I work with the head of Geography to support revision sessions for GCSE (Year 10 & 11) students. During my time here I have developed skills in exam preparation and study methods.

Prior to this I worked as a Learning Support Assistant for 5 years in a primary school. During this time I gained important insight into the Primary Curriculum, especially English and Maths. I supported students with specific learning needs as well as students that were just lagging behind in specific topics. This meant that I developed a range of skills to help students with reading, comprehension, writing and numeracy.

I have worked as a tutor - initially privately and then through an agency - for over 8 years. I have supported students (in Years 1 to 11) academic progress and competence - in Geography, Maths, Sciences and English - through:
- securing foundation and core knowledge of key concepts/processes/theories
- extending/challenging proficiency of key learning points
- skill development (subject-specific, literacy, numeracy and exam)
As a tutor I have also helped students prepare for a range exams, viz.:
11+ and 13+ entrance exams (English, Maths, Verbal Reasoning, NV Reasoning)
KS 2 and 3 SATS (English, Maths, Science)
GCSEs and IGCSEs (Geography, Maths, English and Biology)
A-levels (Geography and Biology)
Consequently, I am familiar with various exam board specifications and schemes of assessment (e.g. AQA, Edexcel, Eduqas, CCEA).

I develop personalised learning plans based on student`s level of ability and purpose of tutoring. I tailor sessions to meet the needs of the individual student and will often plan for several sessions at a time. I do expect students to do homework, however, this will never be more than a total of 2 hours/week (spread over 5 days). Please note: this is largely dependent on the reason for tutoring and the subject, and will take into consideration extra-curricular activities, current HW needs and other commitments. I also work with students to develop a time table, aimed at facilitating effective progress and assists in ensuring that a balance (between work and relaxation) is maintained, while developing organisational skills and a responsibility for their learning.

I believe my varied experience; broad subject range knowledge; and ability to build caring relationships with my students gives me a great advantage as a tutor and ensures a positive learning experience.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Availability: Monday to Friday evenings - from 6pm to 9pm
Sunday afternoons from 12pm to 5pm

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: - July 2009 to August 2014: Learning Support Assistant in a primary school for 5 years: Years 1 to 6 - 1:1 and small group support, in lesson and out, for students with specific learning challenges, viz. dyslexia; epilepsy; and autism, and other barriers to learning (e.g. social, emotional and/or mental health)
- September 2014: Learning Support Assistant in a Secondary School - about 1 month, current school (when 1st employed) - 1: 1 support in class for students with
- October 2014 to present: Cover Supervisor in Secondary School - currently in same position, 7th Year: whole class teaching, mostly in Geography, Maths, Science and English (KS3 and 4 - Years 7 to 11); 1:1 and small group support in Maths and Science (Years 9 - 11); mentoring (Year 10 and 11)
- September 2012 to present: Tutor (Privately and through agency) - 9+ Years: securing/developing knowledge; exam prep; exam skills for a range of age groups (Phonics, SATs, 11+, 13+, GCSEs, IGCSEs, A-level) and a variety of exam boards (AQA, Eduqas, Edexcel, CCEA, OCR)

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Tamara
Tamara

Nearby Locations

GarstonWatfordWatford JunctionGarston Biology TutorsGarston English TutorsGarston Geography TutorsGarston Maths TutorsWatford Biology TutorsWatford English TutorsWatford Maths TutorsWatford English TutorsWatford Maths TutorsWatford Junction Biology TutorsWatford Junction English TutorsWatford Junction Maths Tutors