Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Jan

Jan
Jan
Tutor
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Feedback Score:
+2
Member Since: 31/07/2013
Last Login: 12 months ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data

My Qualifications

MA
University of Reading
Mediaeval Studies
Merit  (2007)
BA
Deakin University
Humanities
Distinction  (1996)
BSc
Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
Medical Technology
Pass  (1980)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified

Information about Jan

I have been tutoring KS1 & 2, KS3, GCSE and A level since 2011. As well as numeracy and literacy at KS1&2, I specialise in Biology and English at A Level, and Sciences, English and History at GCSE. Development of confidence and exam techniques are also important areas of my work with students and mastering these can result in significant improvements in exam results. As well as being knowledgeable in my fields, I am patient, calm and understanding. I have experience with students whose first language is not English and those with educational needs including dyslexia, autistic spectrum and anxiety issues, all of whom are progressing well and look to exceed expectations placed on them by school system.

Availability: I am available Mon - Fri during school hours, and after school until 8pm. Saturdays from 9.30- 4.30pm. School holidays by arrangement.

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Experience: I have 15 years experience as a Medical Scientist, working in leading hospitals in London and Australia. As well as running the Haematology Department, I was responsible for training staff. A career change following the birth of my children resulted in a move towards educational work and the development of literature and history skills. I have been tutoring since 2011.

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Jan (2)

We have a total of 2 review(s) for Jan.

Margaret (Mrs)
13/09/2016

5/5 Rating

It is just a few weeks and we have a good experience so far.

Tutors Response :

Thank you for your comments. Your son is a pleasure to work with, and I look forward to contributing to his continuing progress.


Victoria (Ms)
08/10/2015

5/5 Rating

Jan is very calm and patient. She has helped my daughter gain confidence in primary school maths in only 6 weeks. she has done this by going back to the basics and making sure she understands patterns and the basic concepts. I would thoroughly recommend Jan to others.

Tutors Response :

Thank you for your comments Victoria. It is a pleasure to work with your daughter, and to see her gain confidence and ability.


Nearby Locations

CowleyHeadingtonMarstonOxfordOxfordshireSummertownCowley Biology TutorsCowley Chemistry TutorsCowley English TutorsCowley History TutorsCowley Maths TutorsCowley Physics TutorsHeadington Biology TutorsHeadington Chemistry TutorsHeadington English TutorsHeadington Maths TutorsHeadington Physics TutorsMarston Biology TutorsMarston Chemistry TutorsMarston English TutorsMarston Maths Tutors