Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Glyn (Tutor in Ascot)

Glyn
Glyn
Tutor
Ascot, Berkshire
Home Town: Ascot
Member Since: 03/01/2015
Last Login: 11 days ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 15 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

QTS
Canterbury Christ Church University
English Language and Communication
Pass  (2005)
PGCE
Canterbury Christ Church University
English Language and Communication
Pass  (2005)
BA
University of Reading
English Language
2:1  (2002)
A Level
Bracknell & Wokingham...
English
B  (1998)
A Level
Bracknell & Wokingham...
Media
B  (1998)
A Level
Bracknell & Wokingham...
Film
B  (1998)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
We have verified this users DBS
How references rated Glyn
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
KS3GCSEA-LevelDegree
English£25.00£25.00£25.00£25.00
Information about Glyn

I am a qualified, highly-experienced teacher of English, Media and Film. I have previously taught English at a number of local secondary schools including Edgbarrow and have also been head of English at Farnborough College of Technology. I presently teach English at a small independent secondary school outside Bracknell. I did an English Language degree at Reading University and my secondary PGCE (QTS) qualification at Canterbury Christ Church University in Kent.

I offer private tuition in English and other related disciplines outside of my teaching hours including most weekends. I moderate and examine on both English Language and Literature for a number of large assessment bodies including Pearsons/EDEXCEL and Cambridge.

I am based in North Ascot - was once a Charters School student! - and have offered private tuition for some years, successfully guiding and supporting many dozens of students towards a good mark at GCSE and A Level English, Media and Film. I can also support younger students at Key Stage 3, and have previously or am currently tutoring students from a vast range of local secondary schools including Charters, Willink, EP, Collingwood, Ranelagh, Garth Hill and St Crispins. I am able to offer multiple references from students I have worked with both current and previous.

I am particularly apt at making English more accessible and ensuring that your son or daughter begins to progress to the levels they are capable. Having taught in modern schools, I am entirely sympathetic to parents who feel that large classes, sometimes with as many as 31 or 32 in a group, are holding your child back, or that you perhaps feel that they are not being given the support or encouragement they need. I am experienced at making Shakespeare and poetry-analysis accessible and even fun, as well as exploring ways to ensure that examination and controlled-assessment success takes place!

Typically, most students I work with would be required to undertake at least one additional homework activity on a weekly basis, and I expect regular interaction with the student`s parent or guardian(s) to discuss strategies to ensure continued progress and development. I would always visit for an informal discussion in the first instance, and would request that some of your son or daughter`s work be available for me to review from the outset.

Availability: Generally able to tutor weekday evenings and all day at weekends. Am available during both holiday periods and term times.

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Willing to travel: 15 miles

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

AscotBracknellSouth AscotSunningdaleSunninghillWinkfieldWinkfield RowAscot English TutorsBracknell English TutorsSouth Ascot English TutorsSunningdale English TutorsSunninghill English TutorsWinkfield English TutorsWinkfield Row English Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.250 seconds
twitter    facebook