Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Millie

Millie
Millie
Tutor
New Haw, Surrey
Feedback Score:
+4
Member Since: 22/01/2019
Last Login: 20 months ago
Response Rate: 60%
Expected Response: < 27 minutes

My Qualifications

BSc
University of Bath
Mathematical Sciences
2:2  (2018)
A Level
King Edward VI Sixth Form College, Stourbr...
Maths
A*  (2015)
A Level
King Edward VI Sixth Form College, Stourbr...
Further Maths
A  (2015)
A Level
King Edward VI Sixth Form College, Stourbr...
Physics
A  (2015)
Diploma
King Edward VI Sixth Form College, Stourbr...
IFS Level 2 Financial Capability
A*  (2015)
Other
London College of Music
Musical Theatre Grade 6
Distinction  (2013)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Millie
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Millie

I am a motivated and enthusiastic person, who loves to make the most out of life. My hobbies include weightlifting, drinking coffee and watching movies. I love listening to music and hanging out with my friends - my ideal night in is a takeaway pizza, hot chocolate (with marshmallows of course) and some board games!

I love learning new things, and being able to pass my knowledge on to others. I find that sharing things I have learnt is an amazing way of enriching both my own life as well as others, which I love - happier people all round!

Availability: I am available on weekday evenings, although can do daytime slots on some days if this is needed. I am flexible and will do my best to accommodate you. Some weekend tutoring may be available with prior agreement.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I have been tutoring privately since 2013, with students aged between 8 and 16. This has ranged from helping those who need extra support to get a basic grasp on mathematical concepts, to providing extracurricular lessons for a talented student who was excelling in her school work and wanted more of a challenge.

I am very familiar with the national curriculum as I have studied it recently as part of my degree. I also have one long term student who I am currently tutoring.

During the final year of my degree, I studied two modules which specifically focused on communicating maths to children. In the first unit, I studied the education system, and how it is flawed when it comes to communicating the sciences. I believe that all children learn differently, but unfortunately the current school system does not cater for this, and subsequently it is very difficult for some children to learn through a style that is not suited to them. In my first session with a new student, I always make sure to find out what style(s) of learning work best for them, and where the problem areas lie, to make sure that all sessions are as useful as possible.
The second module I studied was entitled ‘Communicating Maths’ and was based around finding the most effective ways to communicate a mathematical concept to children in a way that they could both use the knowledge, and then retain it for future use. It was an insightful course which broadened my knowledge of teaching methods, which I have found effective in my tutoring since.

My tutoring sessions are completely tailored to suit the student, so that the style of learning is most effective to them. Some of the things that I can offer are:
-exam question practise
-revision techniques and materials
-gaining understanding of mathematical concepts
-improved knowledge and understanding of the syllabus
-support with problem areas/topics
-support with a particular project/presentation
-building confidence in mathematical ability
-consolidating concepts already learnt
If there is something particular than I can help out with then please let me know - I’m up for a challenge!

My degree - BSc Mathematical Sciences - was studied at the University of Bath. I have had a passion for maths from a young age and have always found it exciting and rewarding. I particularly love problem solving and hope that I can share this love of the subject with my students!

All sessions are charged at £35 per hour.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Millie (4)

We have a total of 4 review(s) for Millie.

ABDUL HUSSAIN (Dr)
10/05/2019

5/5 Rating

Millie understood my son`s needs quickly and identified the key areas for development. She was also very accommodating when it came to booking sessions which was helpful.


Liz (Mrs)
08/05/2019

5/5 Rating

We contacted Millie as our daughter needed late-stage GCSE Maths help and she has really made a positive difference. She is well-qualified, organised and flexible, but calm and efficient and, as a young person herself, relates well with my daughter. She has very good knowledge of the syllabus and has systematically worked through it all. My daughter`s confidence in Maths has jumped - even talking about A-level Maths! We will see about that, but I am sure her GCSE result will be a big improvement on her predicted grade. Fantastic Millie - thank you!


Linda (son Jed) (Mrs)
07/05/2019

5/5 Rating

Would recommend Millie, she is reliable, friendly and professional. My son finds her easy to work with and feels he is definitely improving in GCSE Maths, after just a few sessions.


Mark (Mr)
06/04/2019

5/5 Rating

Very good with teenage students my son has gained much more confidence in a few lessons with Milie.
Would recommend her highly


Nearby Locations

ByfleetNew HawOckhamPyrfordWest ByfleetWokingWoodhamByfleet Maths TutorsNew Haw Maths TutorsOckham Maths TutorsPyrford Maths TutorsWoking Maths TutorsWoodham Maths Tutors