Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsItalian Lessons

Marco (Tutor in Clapton)

Marco
Marco
Tutor
Clapton, London
Home Town: Clapton
Member Since: 26/09/2012
Last Login: 18 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 5 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

BA
Birmingham Conservatoire
Acting
2.1  (2011)
MSc
University of Bologna
Environmental Engineering
100/100  (2007)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
We have verified this users DBS
How references rated Marco
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 25.00 to 35.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Acting--£35.00£35.00--
Italian£25.00£25.00£25.00£25.00-£30.00
Maths£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00
Physics£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00-£30.00
Information about Marco

I am an Italian engineer who lives in London. I am currently working as an actor which is my passion but I want to make proper use of my solid background in engineering and my experience as a student in many different institutions around Europe by giving private tutorials to students. I am a very determined and ambitious person and I believe that many things can be achieved with strong will and the right tactics. As you can see from my CV which follows, I successfully studied in Iceland, Norway and England. I studied and worked with people from all over the world and with the most different cultural backgrounds. I myself am very interested and respectful of cultural differences and I am an expert traveller: I travelled extensively through Europe, Africa, India and Japan. What`s more I have a degree in acting (2.1) from a very well reputed English academy in Birmingham (Birmingham School of Acting). I can speak English fluently and I have got a very good grasp of the language (in drama school we studied pronunciation for 3 years) and a very rich and flexible vocabulary. I enjoy staying with people and I like challenges. I take my responsibilities very seriously and I aspire to create a healthy working environment where the prime goal is the students` benefit.

EDUCATION

September 2008 - May 2011 Birmingham, United Kingdom.
BA (Hons) Acting, Birmingham School of Acting.
Awarded the Sir John Gielgud Bursary 2010.

since February 10, 2010 Bologna, Italy.
Member of the Guild of Engineers of Bologna,
as Chartered Engineer, certified by the University of Bologna (December 15, 2008).

2000 - December 21, 2007 Bologna, Italy.
MS in Environmental Engineering (mining field), University of Bologna.
MS Thesis: "Experimental Study on Friction between Saline Ice and Steel" - UNIS, Norway.
Final grade: 100/100.

Spring - Fall 2007 Longyearbyen, Norway.
University Centre in Svalbard (UNIS), department of Arctic Technology.
- Arctic Offshore Engineering (graduate course AT-327).
- Thermo-Mechanics of Ice and Snow, and Loads on Structures (graduate course AT-323).

2003 - 2004 Reykjavk, Iceland.
University of Iceland, Geotechnical department. Erasmus exchange program.

PUBLICATIONS

, M., Marchenko, A., Hyland, K. V., 2008. Experimental study on friction between saline ice and steel.
Proc. 19th IAHR Symposium on ice, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. Vol. 2.

Availability: I currently have a very flexible schedule and can easily accommodate students. I give my availability for week days as well as weekends, during the day as well as in the evening. I can receive students at home but I also have no problem travelling anywhere more convenient.

Willing to travel: 8 miles

Experience: - Since I`ve been in London I have taught Italian to an English couple who have travelled to Italy many times, are really fond of the culture but have never got down to learning the language. I`ve also taught a Japanese woman who lives in the City and has working relationships with Italy. References available on request.

Moreover, I have tutored a 17 year old student form East Dulwich to prepare for and successfully pass his A-Level Maths exams. Reference available on request.

- In 2008 I worked as a teaching assistant in a kindergarten in Reykjavk for 8 months. This kindergarten had a special program of integration between kids with special needs (especially hearing impaired ones) and kids with no special requirements, which showed to be very successful. Besides assisting the teachers in taking care of the children daily, I was responsible of having a short weekly session to introduce children to English as a foreign language through playing and singing, which turned out to be very appreciated and great fun.

February - September 2008 Reykjavk, Iceland.
Teaching Assistant at the kindergarten "Sólborg".

- During my years at university I continuously gave private tutorials of Maths and Physics to students of all ages from primary school to university level.

September 2000 - Fall 2007 Bologna, Italy.
Tutor of Maths, Physics and English to students from elementary school, high school and university.


Teaching is, without any doubt, one of the most important jobs ever. This might sound a cliche but it is what I really think. With almost 30 years spent as a student to gain two university degrees, I have encountered teachers form all over the world and experienced the most different teaching methods. A teacher can make the difference in a persons life, in a good or in a bad way. A good teacher can be a source of inspiration and can make you love a subject that you would have never imagined you could like otherwise. When teaching the student`s benefit is the prime goal, this means that the teacher has to be able to understand what the student needs to access a specific subject, understand it, retain the information and be able to reuse it proactively whenever it is required of him/her. Since, as a private tutor, I work one on one with a student, I aim at creating a healthy and effective relation where the student feels comfortable to express what he/she doesn`t understand and he/she can develop a positive attitude towards learning the subject under examination. Every student is unique, therefore the method used for each student is different. I plan to have a first session where I can assess what it is required of me and whether I am able to constructively interact with the student and then build a teaching program from that. I will commit to plan every session at home and come prepared to teach what is needed and I will expect that the student commits to doing his/her best to do his/her reading and homework.

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

ClaptonClapton Maths TutorsClapton Physics Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.189 seconds
twitter    facebook