Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Coral

Coral
Coral
Tutor
Ayr, Scotland
Home Town: Ayr
Member Since: 22/10/2018
Last Login: 17 days ago
Response Rate: 65%
Expected Response: < 8 hours

My Qualifications

PGDE
University of Glasgow
PGDE English Secondary
Pass with Merit  (2013)
MA
University of Glasgow
Literary Studies
Pass with Merit  (2012)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Coral
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Coral

Hello, my name is Coral. I graduated from the University of Glasgow with an MA in Literary Studies (Merit) and also a Post Graduate Diploma in Education(PGDE) specialising in teaching English in the Secondary sector. I have a real passion for literature and language and in my spare time I love reading new books and discovering different authors. I am a very approachable, outgoing and friendly person and I find that this lends itself to tutoring young people that may be unsure of the subject that requires extra work.

I strongly believe that no student is the same and this is why I advocate a student tailored approach rather than a "one lesson fits all" mentality. I like to spend a little time in the first session discussing what learning techniques have proved successful for the student and which techniques they feel do not work for them, at this time I also like to discuss the areas that need improvement.I believe that it is important to create a plan for each student`s individual needs in order for them to understand how to reach their goals. I tend to keep sessions fairly informal but always challenging and encourage any questions to be asked to enhance the learning experience.

Availability: I am available for tutoring on weekday evenings and weekend mornings.

I tend to tutor from my own home, however, I would be happy to travel short distances where required.

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Experience: I have tutored privately for the past seven years covering both the National 5 and Higher English curriculum which has allowed me to acquire a firm understanding of the demands that individual tutoring presents. The students that I have had the opportunity to tutor have ranged from 13 - 18 in age and I have covered all stages of the Scottish curriculum.

I have worked as an English teacher since the start of my teaching career and as such have experience in teaching all areas of the English curriculum and have a clear and extensive working knowledge of all developments in the curriculum. In addition to this, I am an SQA marker for the National 5 Critical Reading exam and have held this role for the past 4 years which has allowed me to keep abreast of national priorities and changes as well as having a current and thorough understanding of national standards for this course.

I am currently the Principal Teacher of Pupil Support in a Secondary school and therefore I am responsible for managing all aspects of Learning Support and have specialist knowledge in differentiation for a range of ASN.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Coral
Coral

Nearby Locations

ArdrossanAyrDreghornEarlstonGrangeHurlfordIrvineKilmarnockKilwinningMayboleMayfieldMuirheadPrestwickSaltcoatsStevenstonTroonDreghorn English TutorsEarlston English TutorsGrange English TutorsHurlford English TutorsMuirhead English TutorsKilmarnock English TutorsAyr English TutorsMaybole English TutorsPrestwick English TutorsTroon English Tutors