Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsPainting Lessons

Hugh (Tutor in London)

Hugh
Hugh
Tutor
London
Feedback Score:
+9
Member Since: 09/03/2013
Last Login: 6 days ago
Response Rate: 80%
Expected Response: < 14 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MA
Goldsmiths, University of London
Fine Art
Distinction  (2017)
BA
Oxford University
Fine Art
2:1  (2010)
A Level
Canford School
Art
A  (2007)
A Level
Canford School
English
A  (2007)
A Level
Canford School
History
A  (2007)
AS Level
Canford School
Latin
A  (2006)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
We have verified this users DBS

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 35.00 to 40.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult LearnerMentor
Art£40.00£40.00£40.00£40.00£40.00£40.00-
Creative Writing------£35.00
Drawing£40.00-£40.00£40.00£40.00--
English£35.00£35.00£35.00£35.00---
Geography£35.00£35.00£35.00--£35.00-
History£35.00£35.00£35.00£35.00---
Maths£35.00£35.00-----
Painting£40.00-£40.00£40.00£40.00--
Sculpture£40.00-£40.00£40.00£40.00--
Information about Hugh

I hold an MFA in Fine Art from Goldsmiths College of Art, London, and a BFA in Fine Art from the Ruskin School of Art, University of Oxford (New College). I currently work as a Junior Research Fellow on the MFA programme at Goldsmiths.

For the last eight years I have worked as an artist, making paintings, sculptures, and short films, and I have exhibited in galleries across Britain and Europe. I also enjoy lecturing, and taking workshops and drawing classes, which I see as an important part of my work as an artist and tutor. After completing my MFA, I was awarded distinction, while on my undergraduate course, my dissertation was awarded the highest mark in the year. I also achieved 100% in both my Fine Art A Level and my Fine Art GCSE.

I also have A Levels in History (A) and English (A), and an AS Level in Latin (A). I was also awarded ‘Outstanding’ in English `A Level Advanced Extension paper`. All my GCSEs were A/A* Grade. I am just as passionate about teaching these subjects as I am when teaching Fine Art.

In my spare time, I love reading, walking, playing sports (football, long-distance running).

Availability: While I am often busy teaching and tutoring, my hours are flexible. Please do get in touch to discuss when would be a good time/date for tuition and I`ll do my best to find a mutually suitable time.

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Experience: Fine Art

I have experience teaching Fine Art in schools to GCSE, AS and A2 students. I also have previous experience in tutoring Fine Art to Primary, Years 2-10, 13+, GCSE, AS Level and A Level. Additionally, I give 1:1 portfolio guidance (on a one-off and continual basis) for students working towards GCSEs, A Levels, and art school/university application. For the latter, I also provide help with writing personal statements, interview technique, and Oxbridge preparation.I have extensive experience using Adobe Photoshop, Indesign, Vectorworks, and Final Cut Pro.

I take practical art workshops and life-drawing classes in schools and community centres, and I lecture in secondary schools in both Fine Art and English. Furthermore, I have a term`s experience volunteering in a school for children with severe mental and physical disabilities.
I also have experience working as an architectural draftsman and a conservation volunteer, and I have spent time working in galleries in both Italy and the UK.

English

I tutor English to all ages - from 4+ up to Adult Learners. I specialise in working with students towards exams, helping prepare and organise their revision. I have worked with students at 4+, 7+ (English and Maths), 8+ (English and Maths), 11+ (English and Maths), 13+, Common Entrance, GCSE, AS-Level and A2-Level. I have also helped students with general confidence issues, helping improve language, grammar, punctuation, spelling, etc.
I am also experienced teaching over Skype and other web portals.

History and Geography

I also help students with History and Geography, teaching up to GCSE level as well as teaching younger students.

Recent case studies include:

Sarune (2014) – Year 2 weekly sessions of drawing and painting tuition
Shane (2014) – 7+ passed for entrance to Highgate School
Ahmed (2014) – 7+ passed for entrance to KCS
Allegra (2015) – 7+ passed for entrance to Chigwell School
Paul (2014) – 8+ passed
Alex (2014) – 11+ passed
Daniel R (2013) – 11+ passed
Alessandro (2015) –11+ ongoing
Alicia (2013) – Common Entrance/13+ Geography, History, and English tuition
Kieron (2014) – 13+ English and History tuition for scholarship to leading independent London secondary school. Awarded academic exhibition.
Jamie (2014) – Common Entrance – all subjects – to London secondary school. Awarded academic scholarship.
Smilla (2014) – Aged 13 - Cultural Studies – a series of classes introducing student to aspects of film, art, design, music, and cultural history.
Henry (2015) – Year 9 - Fine Art tuition with regular weekly sessions
Samuel (2013) – GCSE - History tuition (obtained an A grade)
Leah (2015) – AS-Level – Fine Art – fortnightly sessions.
Harrishan (2014) - GCSE - Fine Art
Harleen (2014) - AS-Level - Fine Art
Saffron (2015) - A-Level - Fine Art
Manisa (2014) - AS-Level - Fine Art
Jemima (2014) – A-Level retake – Fine Art – Tuition for full-academic year. Obtained a high-A/A*grade in all modules taught.
Allegra (2015) – University Application – portfolio preparation and assistance with application to Interior Design
Mavis (2013) – Undergraduate Level – Art History of 20th and 21st century – weekly lessons with slideshow presentations
Song (2014) – Undergraduate Level – Art History of 20th and 21st century assistance with personal statement artist statement and undergraduate dissertation.
Pina (2014) – Adult learner – weekly drawing lessons
Efrat (2015) – Adult learner – drawing and painting lessons

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor
Feedback For Hugh (9)
We have a total of 9 review(s) for Hugh.

Jen (Mrs)
03/05/2019

5/5 Rating

My son has thoroughly enjoyed his sessions with Hugh. Hugh is an excellent teacher and my son`s art techniques are really improving. Hugh also relates what they are doing to art movements and specific artists, which is widening my son`s understanding of the history of art and is also very inspiring to him. Overall, Hugh is a wonderful tutor and we couldn`t recommend him more highly.


Joshua (Mr)
08/03/2019

5/5 Rating

Hugh is a fantastic and inspiring tutor. He has an amazing wealth of knowledge about so many aspects of art. Very friendly and generous with his time. He followed up our tutor session with lots of links which was so helpful. Looking forward to working with Hugh as he is an outstanding tutor and we would highly recommend him.


Cathy ()
30/05/2018

5/5 Rating

Hugh began tutoring me for my art A-level at a late stage in the year and has been really incredible with helping me progress. In a short space of time he helped me completely transform my workbooks, drastically improving my grade, his knowledge of the exam board and commitment to helping made him an excellent tutor, really happy and I would highly recommend Hugh to anyone considering getting help with their art at any level, great tutor 10/10 !


Robert (Mr)
10/07/2017

5/5 Rating

Hugh is a creative and conscientious tutor and dedicated to his subject of Art. He was always well prepared, reliable, punctual and willing to provide follow up after lessons. Our son found the tutorials helpful and achieved a better understanding of the subject with Hugh’s input. Hugh’s approach was friendly and flexible and we would have no hesitation in recommending him as an A Level tutor.


Marina ()
16/02/2016

5/5 Rating

One of the best tutors we have ever had. Hugh is very responsible,well educated,knowledgeable and professional. My son was very happy with his lessons. Advices for GSCE portfolio coursework really helped my son to feel confident. Hopefully we will see Hugh soon. Highly recommended!


Henry (Mr)
17/11/2015

5/5 Rating

best tutor ever


Sabine (Mrs)
26/09/2015

5/5 Rating

We have just started this year with lessons. So far a very good impression. Hugh was very punctual. Apart from a detailed knowledge of the exam board he also provided excellent artistic guidance for my daughter`s art sketchbook whilst keeping the whole integrity of the project.


Monica (Miss)
24/08/2013

4/5 Rating

Kind, patient and reliable tutor.


Charlotte (Miss)
09/03/2013

5/5 Rating

Very happy with our daughter`s results and Hugh`s tutoring. He is kind, well organised and helped her structure her ideas.


Nearby Locations

PimlicoVauxhallPimlico English TutorsPimlico Geography TutorsPimlico History TutorsPimlico Maths TutorsVauxhall English TutorsVauxhall Geography TutorsVauxhall History TutorsVauxhall Maths Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.422 seconds
twitter    facebook