Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Amy (Tutor in West Midlands)

Amy
Amy
Tutor
West Midlands
Feedback Score:
+2
Member Since: 02/09/2014
Last Login: 23 months ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 11 hours

Qualifications

PGCE
Blackpool and The Fylde College An...
PGCE post-compulsory education
Pass  (2011)
BSc
Keele University
Biology (Major with 2nd subject)
2:2  (2010)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Amy
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 20.00 to 25.00 per hour
KS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Biology£20.00£25.00£25.00£25.00£25.00
Chemistry£20.00£25.00---
Geology-£25.00£25.00--
Physics£20.00£25.00---
Information about Amy

I began private tutoring in 2006 whilst at university I had several students whom I assisted with their spoken English, particularly in pronunciation.

As an undergraduate I was an AimHigher mentor and provided face-to-face support and encouragement to a small group of students. I acted as a role model and assisted them as they moved through year 10 with educational, personal and career-related challenges as well as opportunities and their upcoming GCSE choices. These students were selected by the school because of their underachievement and disadvantaged backgrounds. My time as an AimHigher mentor was what began my interest in young people and working with young people as a career. I found the experience interesting and being able to be a positive influence on a student’s future was very rewarding.

Upon completing my PGCE in post-compulsory education in 2011, I had gained experience teaching a range of age ranges, the youngest student being 16, the eldest 52!

After university I set up and ran my own private tutoring business mainly tutoring in A-level biology and spoken English, I also had a needlework student.

I started teaching in Birmingham in 2012 primarily with post-compulsory students. Within the classroom I have handeled the needs of individual students, from students who need readers for mock exams, to students who need yellow backgrounds on slides and handouts to students who need someone to talk to about their problems. The fact that I am approachable to students and they feel comfortable in speaking to me and asking me for advice has been frequently commented on in performance appraisals.

I am softly spoken and I find this can often work well to calm a situation whilst allowing me to be firm.

My traineeship in Birmingham was very educational and I developed skills across two different levels of courses, level 2 applied science and level 3 applied science. Being a level 2 personal coach I found very rewarding and many of my tutees progressed either onto level 3 applied science or onto other courses within the college.

My IT skills are rated very highly in the development team and I am a member of the team that develops and tests the MOODLE virtual learning environment within my workplace. I am very comfortable with computers and enjoy using them since 2008 I have been a member of the coding team for an online multi-user dimension based on the Discworld books by Terry Pratchett. This is a voluntary position that means I work with challenging players and inside an international team, often leading projects in game. This experience has given me a deeper understanding of working and leading with people who may have different time constraints and different methods of getting to the same goal.

Everyone involved with young people wants to see them succeed. I have never had a student that a part of me didn’t want to succeed I will try my hardest to support and nurture a student towards high aspirations. I have encouraged and mentored students in bottom sets to achieve distinctions, worked with challenging level two students to ensure they progress onto level three and there are fewer feelings of satisfaction than seeing a terrified student progress and blossom into a confident member of society or having a student suddenly exclaim, “I can do this!”

My verbal and non-verbal skills are advanced and I am very capable of performing a variety of tasks.

I firmly believe in role-modelling the behaviour I expect from students in work ethic, calmness, punctuality and personal appearance. I believe in dressing professionally when at work and that this sets a good standard for students to follow.

Availability: I am available Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday evenings, alternate Monday evenings and also Sunday.

PLEASE NOTE: I am currently fully booked until July - please contact me to reserve spaces for summer tutoring.

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I have been tutoring since 2006 to a range of students.

Feedback For Amy (2)
We have a total of 2 review(s) for Amy.

Priya (Miss)
25/06/2019

4/5 Rating

A great tutor, very supportive with many resources. Helped me to increase my A level Biology grade from a D to an A allowing me to get onto the degree program of my choice. Would fully recommend Amy who has much practical skill as well as clear explanation. Thanks for simplifying everything Amy:)


Isayas (Mr)
30/03/2016

5/5 Rating

Amy is doing very well, she is very punctual and tutoring my daughter for the past few months.we are happy to have her.

I Daniel


Nearby Locations

Brierley HillDudleyHagleyHalesowenRowley RegisStourbridgeBrierley Hill Biology TutorsBrierley Hill Chemistry TutorsBrierley Hill Physics TutorsDudley Biology TutorsDudley Chemistry TutorsDudley Physics TutorsHagley Biology TutorsHagley Chemistry TutorsHagley Physics TutorsHalesowen Biology TutorsHalesowen Chemistry TutorsHalesowen Physics TutorsRowley Regis Biology TutorsRowley Regis Chemistry TutorsRowley Regis Physics Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.359 seconds
twitter    facebook