Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsHistory Tutors

Ally (Tutor in Islington)

Ally
Ally
Tutor
Islington, London
Home Town: Islington
Member Since: 26/10/2016
Last Login: 3 years ago
Response Rate: 65%
Expected Response: < 2 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

BA
London School of Economics
History
1st Class Honours  (2016)
A Level
Jersey College for Gir...
History
A*  (2013)
A Level
Jersey College for Gir...
Biology
A*  (2013)
A Level
Jersey College for Gir...
Religious Studies
A  (2013)
A Level
Jersey College for Gir...
Chemistry
A  (2013)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Ally
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Ally

Hello, my name is Ally. I am a BA (Hons) International History graduate from the London School of Economics and I teach a range of age groups specialising in History and science.

Location: Angel (Islington)

I have a range of experience tutoring students of all age groups and abilities. As a History graduate I have tutored students in this subject but also enjoy tutoring the sciences and general humanities at a younger age. I am also able to provide general tutoring on how to structure of an essay (within a humanitarian subject) and have also provided help with UCAS statements in the past. From my own experience as a student and as a tutor I have found that students may often have the knowledge but struggle when applying this knowledge to the exam questions. A large proportion of my time spent tutoring thus goes towards going through past paper questions and ensuring students are entirely familiar with the format and style of the paper before they enter the exam.

I am able to recognise that different children have their own strengths and weaknesses, different confidences and insecurities, and I always aim to get to know the student first in order to tailor my methods accordingly. Through my lessons, I always aim to build on each students confidence in their own abilities and hope to find ways and methods for them to view the subject matter enthusiastically.

I went to Jersey College for Girls, a mixed private-state school with over 1000 students. In my final year I was appointed Head Girl and with many tasks to handle I soon learnt how important an inspiring yet efficient and interactive teacher was in helping me with my exams and studies. From experience as a student, I believe it is confidence and the ability to find ways to make the subject matter interesting, that is paramount to achieving the best grades and also in ensuring a happy student.

I come from a family of 4 siblings and have 15 cousins all of which are younger than me so as well as having experience in tutoring I also feel extremely comfortable around children of all age groups and have gained experience in finding the best way possible to tackle various academic tasks depending on their age.

I am currently studying for a Graduate Diploma in Law and I am free to tutor on Monday and Tuesday evenings and Sunday afternoon.

Thank you so much for your time, I look forward to hearing from you!
Ally

Availability: I am free to tutor on Monday and Tuesday evenings and Sunday afternoon.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I have over three years of tutoring experience and have taught students from the ages of 11 to 18.

I have tutored one student throughout Years 6 and 7 and helped her with all her subjects and the homework that was set for each of them. I specifically helped her a great deal with the sciences as she struggled with these particularly.

I have tutored a pupil once every week for a year in both Chemistry and Biology GCSE. She was predicted a C and received an A as her final grade which we were both delighted about! I then went on to tutor her younger sister in the same subjects. Her sister was predicted an A and received an A* as her final grade.

I have tutored another pupil for two years in the summer holidays and easter period. I taught her GCSE RS, Biology and Chemistry. This particular student struggled immensely with these subjects and was predicted a D in all of them. She received a B in all these subjects which satisfied the requirements she needed to go onto the College she wished to study Veterinary nursing at.

I have tutored a pupil studying A-level history for two years once a week. He particularly struggled with source analysis and essay structure so a lot of our time was dedicated to these problem areas. He received an A as his final grade and has gone onto the study at Kings College London.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

AngelAngel Biology TutorsAngel Chemistry TutorsAngel History Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.238 seconds
twitter    facebook