Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Emily (Tutor in Glasgow)

Emily
Emily
Tutor
Glasgow, Scotland
Home Town: Glasgow
Member Since: 11/09/2017
Last Login: 10 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 9 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

PGDE
University of Glasgow
Secondary School English Teacher
Pass  (2014)
MA
Newcastle University
International Film
Merit  (2011)
BA
Newcastle University
English Literature and Language
2:1  (2007)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
English£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00
Information about Emily

I am a 33 year old mother to one and I have been living in Glasgow 6 years. I love reading, music, the outdoors and going to the cinema. I recently gave up classroom teaching to concentrate on private tutoring and raising a family. I love seeing people learn and this is what drives me to work in education.

Availability: Evenings and Weekends

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Experience: I have four years` experience teaching English in a secondary school, successfully teaching at both National 5 and Higher level. I have also tutored a number of students privately at these levels, as well as some adult learners. Within the school I have been a school mentor and have taught small tutorials to aid students in exam success.

Further experience includes liaising with primary schools and I have taught primary level (P7) classes on occasion. I love working with children of all ages and would be happy to tutor a pupil at this level too.

My approach to tutoring: I have a calm and patient manner and I listen to the needs of the student. Listening is one of the most important aspects of being a teacher or tutor. I have a number of strategies to help build confidence and inspire students to be their best. Interesting resources and literature that captures the imagination are also vital in fostering a love of English as a subject, and I have a wide range of such materials that I have refined and improved over the years. I always build an excellent rapport with students who trust that I am dedicated to getting the best out of them.

I will adapt my approach depending on the needs of the student, but here is an outline of the different areas I can cover:

Exam preparation (all aspects: Critical Essay, Scottish Textual Analysis, Reading for Understanding, Analysis and Evaluation)
Portfolio preparation
Homework/ projects
Writing
Looking at poetry, novels or other written works

Adult learners:

Preparation for the literacy/language element of vocational exams (e.g. I have experience in tutoring for the police entrance exams)
Personal development in all aspects of English

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

BattlefieldCastlemilkCathcartCroftfootCrosshillGlasgowKings ParkMount FloridaBattlefield English TutorsCastlemilk English TutorsCathcart English TutorsCroftfoot English TutorsCrosshill English TutorsGlasgow English TutorsKings Park English TutorsMount Florida English Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.234 seconds
twitter    facebook