Tutor HuntSubjectsFrench Tutors

Madeleine

Madeleine
Madeleine
Tutor
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Home Town: Aylesbury
Member Since: 08/06/2020
Last Login: 2 days ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Madeleine
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 25.00 to 31.25 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-Level
French£25£25£31.25£31.25
Music History--£31.25£31.25
Music Theory-£31.25£31.25-
Trumpet-£31.25£31.25£31.25

Information about Madeleine

Hi, my name is Madeleine. I am a friendly, patient and encouraging Joint Honours student at Birmingham University studying Music and French. I am offering Music, French and English tuition from KS3, GCSE to A Level, and I have a wealth of experience teaching students from Year 5 upwards.

This summer, under the Coronavirus Tutoring Initiative, I have been tutoring GCSE (AQA) and A Level (AQA) French via online platforms. I specialise in French Language, Literature and Music, but I also offer tuition in English Literature up to A Level standard. Poetry is my particular area of interest in both languages, as well as its cross over into music.

This current academic year I will hopefully be co-teaching in France (quarantine allowing!), having been successful in my application to become a British Council Teaching Assistant. I will still be able to offer online tutoring when I’m abroad. Whilst there, I will be teaching a variety of ages at secondary level.

I also offer music students assistance with performance, arranging and composition. Having enjoyed mentoring younger students with performance when I was in sixth form, I have continued to encourage students to perform and improvise within a variety of jazz ensembles at Birmingham.

My primary instrument is the trumpet with which I play in a variety of styles, including jazz, funk and classical (where I particularly enjoy Romantic and Baroque music). At Birmingham, I played in the Jazz Orchestra and with the Jazz Collective Society and Jazz, Funk and Soul Society (JFS). I also co-founded three independent bands: ‘Quintessential’; ‘Phunk You Up!’ and an all-girl jazz group: ‘Mamma Jamma’.

In addition to playing Jazz, I have played in brass bands since Year 3 and performed at many venues including the Albert Hall, London, and the Harpa Concert Hall in Reykjavik, Iceland. Whilst I was Lead Performing Arts Ambassador in Sixth form, I taught Year 7 students lessons about the trumpet to complement their lessons on instruments of the orchestra. During work experience at Brill C of E Primary school, I taught a lesson to Year 5 students on the 12 Bar Blues, contributed to French lessons and accompanied a Year 5 cellist on piano for their school talent show.

I am looking for students of all abilities who have a keen interest in and an enthusiasm to learn French, English or Music. I can offer an individually tailored approach to each student.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: Qualifications

GCSEs: 7A*s, 3As, Pass (Statistics)
Music Composition: A* (full marks)
Performance: A*

A Levels: A*, A, A, B.
Music Composition: A*
Performance: A* (58/60)

Trumpet: Grade 8 (Distinction), Grade 5 Jazz (Distinction)

Testimonials

Responding to the need for education during this pandemic, I became part of the Coronavirus Tutoring initiative. I have thoroughly enjoyed every session and after asking my tutees if they would summarise their experience with me so far, they have said the following:

Tutee 1: ‘Madeleine has been an amazing tutor. She has really helped me with my A level French. She’s super nice and helpful always making sure not to rush through anything but also explains relatively difficult concepts in a more understandable way. She even made me an A4 list of amazing French essay phrases and really good Power Points for our sessions. I definitely recommend!’

Tutee 2: ‘Since the closing of schools, I have been having tutoring sessions with Madeleine, she has really helped me with grammar and pronunciation. Madeleine is so lovely and has been very flexible, as I have started to have lessons online. She is extremely helpful and it has really improved my understanding of that language.’

Tutee 3: `The enthusiasm about the lessons and wider knowledge and understanding I have gained through our sessions is incredible!`

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Madeleine
Madeleine

Nearby Locations

BucknellCaversfieldCuddingtonGreat MiltonHaddenhamLong CrendonLudgershallShabbingtonSteeple ClaydonThameTiddingtonWaddesdonWheatleyCuddington French TutorsHaddenham French TutorsLong Crendon French TutorsLudgershall French TutorsShabbington French TutorsSteeple Claydon French TutorsWaddesdon French TutorsBucknell French TutorsCaversfield French TutorsGreat Milton French TutorsThame French TutorsTiddington French TutorsWheatley French Tutors