Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsGerman Tutors

Odin (Tutor in Yorkshire)

Odin
Odin
Tutor
Yorkshire
Feedback Score:
+7
Member Since: 16/06/2015
Last Login: 62 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 9 hours
Contact this Tutor
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 25.00 to 30.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Efl£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00
Esperanto£30.00---£30.00
French£25.00£25.00£25.00-£25.00
German£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00
Portuguese£30.00£30.00£30.00-£30.00
Spanish£30.00£30.00£30.00-£30.00
Information about Odin

I specialise in working together with people who feel like they are struggling with learning language. Whether it`s pronunciation, getting to grips with grammar or simply finding the courage to be able to speak when you`re not sure whether you`re going to get it right or not these are all problems that can be made much more manageable, in a relatively short time.

I am a polyglot language coach, translator and interpreter.
I have over 25 years of experience teaching, coaching, writing, interpreting, translating and studying language. I`ve worked in the Czech Republic, Germany, the UK, Spain and Brazil.
I currently work as a language consultant coaching/tutoring and translating/interpreting at Luna Languages in Leeds.
Over the years, I have come to the conclusion that language and psychology are so closely intertwined, as are success, well-being and language, that I am going to Keele University in September to take their `Graduate Certificate in Counselling / Part Time MSc Counselling and Psychotherapy’ course. My hope is to be able to better help people, in not only their language learning endeavours, but eventually in other aspects of their lives, too.

I teach English, German, Spanish and Portuguese. Although from Yorkshire originally (born in Leeds), I`ve lived in 5 countries and worked in most kinds of teaching environments from state schools to private language schools and from students` homes to businesses. I have an excellent track record with GCSE and `A` level tuition and years of experience with Cambridge English exams, TOEFL and IELTS. I have also been asked to be an oral examiner on some of this year`s GCSE language exams.

Having gone through the process of learning new languages a number of times, I know just how it feels to go through that learning process. I know what it`s like and I`m here to help you!

Even if it`s a bit of help to get to a more comfortable place with a language before a holiday or a business trip - I can really help you feel more prepared.
One of my students, who was recently preparing for a trip to South America kindly said:

"I don`t know what could have been better."

Whatever your language learning needs, I`m happy and able to help.

Availability: I am a full-time language coach, so have a fairly flexible schedule.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: Please see below a summary of my language experience:

2 years teaching Esperanto in Wakefield, England.

3 years teaching in Czech state primary and secondary schools.
Translating and proof-reading for the (then) state propaganda agency.
Language coaching for diplomats and heads of business.

10 years teaching private classes in Germany.
Running freelance translating agency.
Adjudicating TOEFL exam.

3 years working in private language schools, teaching all ages near Barcelona, Spain.
Freelance work as language coach to businesses executives.

5 years teaching all ages in a private language school in São Paulo, Brazil.
Executive in-company courses for Medical and marketing companies.
In-company interpreting during international meetings.
Commercial translations for international companies.
Volunteer teaching in São Paulo`s `Jardim Colombo` shanty town community.

3 years teaching languages at all levels in the UK
Interpreting for solicitors on international Asylum & Human Rights cases.
Commercial translations. GCSE oral examining.

Contact this Tutor
Feedback For Odin (7)
We have a total of 7 review(s) for Odin.

Julius (Mr)
25/07/2018

5/5 Rating

Odin is excellent and a dedicated tutor. He is committed to teaching.


Andy (Mr)
16/10/2017

5/5 Rating

We think the previous five reviews are very accurate. Odin is a very aimiable and knowledgeable tutor whose style of teaching makes you look forward to the language learning experience. You feel relaxed and comfortable at every lesson and we certainly no longer dread the German language.
Many thanks Odin. Andy & Anita


Keith (Mr)
22/07/2016

4/5 Rating

I have found Odin a very capable tutor, very professional in his approach to teaching and makes learning enjoyable


Chris (Mr)
04/06/2016

5/5 Rating

I thought it would be fair to leave a more substantial comment as my first one was made after only a lesson or 2 and Tutor hunt were emailing regularly encouraging me to do so.

I have now been taught by Odin for approximately 6 months and can provide a much more substantial comment on Odin`s tutelage.

I can scarcely imagine a more productive and interesting 6 months learning German. Odin`s methods are kind of the "Rolls Royce" experience, a holistic approach you might say. It isn`t just technical stuff (pronunciation, conjugation etc), it`s cultural, historical and even anecdotal too. I`m moving to Germany soon and initially wanted to get a grip on the language, I got more than I bargained for because now I feel like I am getting a grip on the culture of Germany too! Odin is also a genuinely nice guy and seems to be always happy to assist in the week between lessons. All in all, highly recommended, your "tutor hunt" is over!


Tracey (Mrs)
15/01/2016

5/5 Rating

Odin is great, only after three sessions has boosted my daughters confidence in speaking in German. She was struggling in this subject area but feels with his continued support that she will achieve a high grade. Odin is great at understanding how to get students to feel comfortable making the subject fun.


Chris (Mr)
07/12/2015

5/5 Rating

A nice guy and easy to arrange sessions convenient to you, recommended.


Sarah (Mrs)
31/08/2015

5/5 Rating

Odin is great! He`s kind, friendly and he is a very encouraging tutor. He is a fountain of knowledge and he has some many interesting stories to tell. Would definitely recommend him!


Nearby Locations

CroftonEast ArdsleyHorburyMorleyOssettStanleyTingleyWakefieldMorley French TutorsMorley German TutorsMorley Spanish TutorsStanley French TutorsStanley German TutorsStanley Spanish TutorsCrofton French TutorsCrofton German TutorsCrofton Spanish TutorsHorbury French TutorsHorbury German TutorsHorbury Spanish TutorsOssett French TutorsOssett German TutorsOssett Spanish Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.593 seconds
twitter    facebook