Tutor HuntSubjectsLatin Lessons

Jake

Jake
Jake
Tutor
Lancaster, Lancashire
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 26/08/2022
Last Login: 2 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 3 hours

My Qualifications

Masters
Oxford University
Greek and/or Latin Languages and Literature
Distinction  (2021)
MA
University of St Andrews
Classics
First Class  (2019)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Jake
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 35.00 to 40.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult LearnerIB
Classics--£37.50£40-£40-
Creative Writing-------
English£35£35£37.50----
Greek£37.50£37.50£40£40£40£40£40
Latin£35£35£37.50£40£40£40£37.50

Information about Jake

In the summer of 2020, I completed a Master`s in Greek and/or Latin Languages and Literature at the University of Oxford with a Distinction. I graduated from the University of St Andrews with a First in Classics in 2019. I am obsessed with books and languages of all kinds, and I hope my enthusiasm comes across as a tutor. My favourite area of Classics is Roman poetry.

Typically, I would like the tutee to give me some information in advance about what they are struggling with. Then I can come to the lesson prepared to talk through the problems they are having. The structure will therefore vary from lesson to lesson, as it depends on the tutee - for example, the tutee might prepare half of a past paper in advance, then in the lesson we can go through the whole past paper, with an emphasis on the trickier elements. For the next lesson I might then create tailored exercises to practise those elements. All in all, I think the best way to learn is focusing on the things you don`t understand - we are all learners, and we should all feel comfortable discussing what we find difficult.

In some cases, I have tutored Latin or Ancient Greek to a student in a very structured way, teaching and testing grammar topics each lesson.

Often I will follow up lessons with handcrafted resources such as colour-coded grammar explanations, key vocab lists, translation notes or practice sentences to ensure that what is learned within lessons can be remembered and revised in the future.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I have approximately 1100 hours of online tutoring experience. For the most part, I have tutored Latin, including beginner Latin, 13+ scholarship Latin (e.g. Common Entrance Levels 1-3, Eton King`s Scholarship, Westminster Challenge), and the OCR GCSE, AS- and A-Level syllabuses (including the Oxford CAT test). I also have experience tutoring Classical Greek (also part of my degrees) at all levels, tutoring English at KS2, KS3 and GCSE level, and giving personal statement advice.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Jake (1)

We have a total of 1 review(s) for Jake.

Victoria (Mrs)
16/01/2023

5/5 Rating

Excellent


Nearby Locations

CarnforthGarstangGrange-over-sandsHambletonHeyshamLancashireLancasterMorecambeWartonGrange-over-sands English TutorsCarnforth English TutorsGarstang English TutorsHambleton English TutorsHeysham English TutorsLancaster English TutorsMorecambe English TutorsWarton English Tutors