Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Shahana (Tutor in Ilford)

Shahana
Shahana
Tutor
Ilford, Essex
Feedback Score:
+4
Member Since: 05/09/2013
Last Login: 10 days ago
Response Rate: 70%
Expected Response: < 1 day
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MEd
Leeds University
Special Education
Pass  (2005)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Shahana
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 25.00 to 30.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Bengali£25.00£30.00£30.00£30.00£30.00
English----£30.00
Maths£25.00£30.00£30.00-£30.00
Information about Shahana

With children and young adults` educational attainments coming under the spotlight and becoming more important than ever, it is becoming crucial that students have sufficient support in their studies in order to achieve well academically in their examinations. This requires a good grasp of the fundamental concepts of the subjects studied and their applications, as well as a familiarisation with the ways in which these are tested in exams. I have more than 20 years` teaching experience, as a teacher and a teaching assistant both in the UK and abroad. With Higher Level Teaching Assistant (HLTA) status, I am currently working as a Teaching Assistant and Intervention Tutor at an Academy in Leeds.

I have tutored many students from all backgrounds (including adult learners) in Maths and Bengali up to GCSE. My 13 years` experience in the British education system has made me intricately familiar with National Curriculum standards, and this is what I base my tutoring sessions on.

I take great care and planning to make my tutoring sessions as beneficial for the student as possible. Utilising a wide variety of resources and teaching methods, I cover individual topics in a comprehensive way so that the student fully understands the concepts and can apply them to different types of questions. Throughout, I keep the focus on the National Curriculum, including the use of past papers and resources to aid my teaching.

Students and parents alike have appreciated my tutoring style and the noticeable improvement it has on the student`s attainment at school and in examinations. My open, friendly style, along with a calm and patient demeanour, is successful in helping students gain confidence in topics they find difficult. However, I do set standards and also encourage a good work ethic amongst my students by reviewing previous sessions` topics (thus requiring the student to go over the previous session`s work before they see me) and regular testing according to the National Curriculum.

I also have a Masters in Special Education and have worked for 12 years in the Special Educational Needs (SEN) department at my school. I have created resources in Maths specifically for children and adults with SEN and am comfortable teaching in this style.

Availability: Weekends times and number of hours can be negotiated.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: More than 20 years` experience as a teacher and teaching assistant. Also have more than 10 years` experience providing one-to-one tuition to students from primary school level to GCSE in Maths and Bengali.

I am currently working at The Co-Operative Academy of Leeds, where I have delivered withdrawal lessons to Year 8 and 9 students struggling in Maths. When I did my Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) degree, my method subject for teaching was Maths.

My work with the Co-Operative Academy of Leeds (formerly Primrose High School) has made me an expert on the national curriculum and the standards students are expected to reach in each Key Stage.

I have also been working in the Special Educational Needs (SEN) department of this school for 12 years and have been involved in developing and implementing IEPs and IBPs for students with SENs. I am also involved in one to one discussions with parents and outside agencies on each student`s progress.

With regards to tutoring, I have experience of tutoring students from all ages (including adult learners) in Maths and Bengali up to GCSE level. My wealth of relevant resources means I can appropriately teach and assess students` progress in line with National Curriculum expectations, and am able to stretch the more able students as well as taking spending more time in particular topics with students who are finding the subject difficult.

Contact this Tutor
Feedback For Shahana (4)
We have a total of 4 review(s) for Shahana.

Ahmed (Mr)
01/10/2018

5/5 Rating

Shahaha is teaching my daughter GCSE math. Over the past few weeks we noticed huge improvement as assessed by previous exam papers. I would highly recommend this tutor for GCSE and A level math.


Sahar (Ms)
25/05/2018

5/5 Rating

Shahana is a very reliable tutor. From the 1st lesson she made my daughter feel comfortable. She has able to make her lessons enjoyable, which has helped my daughter in learning fast.
I would recommend Shahana for anyone looking for a confident, friendly and approachable tutor.


Shabana (Mrs)
21/04/2018

5/5 Rating

Mrs Shahana has been tutoring my daughter for a couple of weeks and I can say that I`m very happy with her she knows what she is doing and very punctual..


Khalid (Mr)
29/03/2015

5/5 Rating

Conscientious, dedicated, accommodating tutor. Extremely happy with teaching methods. Has included outings too including Bangladeshi supermarket&cultural events. Has also regularly treated students to sweets, drinks and nibbles. Now part of the family. Would highly recommend.


Nearby Locations

GoodmayesSeven KingsGoodmayes English TutorsGoodmayes Maths TutorsSeven Kings English TutorsSeven Kings Maths Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.266 seconds
twitter    facebook