Tutor HuntSubjectsFrench Tutors

Edwin

Edwin
Edwin
Tutor
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Feedback Score:
+3
Member Since: 23/10/2013
Last Login: 25 days ago
Response Rate: 95%
Expected Response: < 10 hours

My Qualifications

BEd
The University of Sheffield
French and English
2:2  (1973)
CertEd
The University of Sheffield
French & English
2:1  (1973)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Edwin
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 18.00 to 27.00 per hour
KS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
French-£25£27-£25
Italian-£20£20£22£20
Portuguese£18£18---
Spanish£18£20£25£22£20

Information about Edwin

I taught modern languages [mainly French] for 25 years from year 7 to adult learners at secondary level [11- 18] and tertiary level [18+].
Since leaving teaching, I have had a variety of jobs since then including working for a translation/interpreting agency and NHS Interpreting Services and doing private tuition to students of varying ages, abilities and ambitions.
I have taught French, Spanish and Italian ab initio to post A Level
My mother was Italian - Italian [near native]
Speak French [near native]
Spanish and Portuguese.

Availability: Weekdays am & pm
Evenings [not weekend]
Saturday am & pm

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I taught modern languages [mainly French] for 25 years from year 7 to adult learners at secondary level [11- 18] and tertiary level [18+]. and private tuition to students of varying ages, abilities and ambitions.

Tutoring Approach / Philosophy
You hear and you forget. You see and you believe. You do and you understand. You understand and you have a sense of success in it. You have a sense of success in it and it is yours.

I always adapt each lesson according to the student`s personality and needs. At the beginning I usually discuss with students what they want to achieve as a target and what topics interest them most and I will meet their needs. My students have achieved good results and have improved their level of learning.
I tailor the learning processes and techniques differently to each student.
For whatever reason you need to learn or update your foreign language skills - business, pleasure, exams etc. - I can help you achieve your goals.
I tailor my teaching styles to your learning needs and objectives. There is no need to buy expensive courses. I will provide the necessary materials. All you need to provide is the enthusiasm to learn. You need to commit to a few minutes each day of personal learning.
I usually have a preliminary meeting with you to ascertain what you need and if you have any prior learning in the target language.
I then adapt my lessons to your level and your specific needs. I integrate new learning into your existing knowledge base - if any. I will give you strategies for easy vocabulary learning and build on that vocabulary with accessible grammar so that you can start to talk on an ever- widening number of topics.
I create a comfortable teaching environment so that each student can concentrate and be motivated.
My two main aims are to
+ To promote active learning.
+ To encourage communication.
I help you learn on a 1-to-1 basis or in small groups [max 6].
I also teach small groups.
Small groups have several advantages: -
+ Small groups allow students to bring their own experience to the learning process
+ Small groups encourage active learning rather than passive listening
+ Students take more responsibility for their own learning
+ Students learn from each other`s demonstrations, examples, insights, and mistakes
+ Students develop interpersonal communication skills, such as listening, collaborating
+ Students become more competent and more confident more quickly

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Edwin (3)

We have a total of 3 review(s) for Edwin.

Moira (Mrs)
29/11/2019

5/5 Rating

Edwin has a relaxed, informal teaching style, but ensures that my daughter is always stretched at every lesson. Lots of preparation, handouts and guidance on methods of learning. Would definitely recommend.


Angela (Ms)
20/10/2017

5/5 Rating

My son felt at ease immediately with Mr Edwin`s gentle approach with his teaching and this boosted my son`s confidence in his subjects quickly.


Tracey (Mrs)
01/10/2015

5/5 Rating

A very good tutor for GCSE level he made my son very comfortable and all lessons were easy to understand and interesting would recommend

Tutors Response :

Thank you. Glad I was able to help.
Edwin


Nearby Locations

CotgraveEast BridgfordGedlingMapperleySt Ann'sThorneywoodWoodthorpeCotgrave French TutorsCotgrave Spanish TutorsEast Bridgford French TutorsEast Bridgford Spanish Tutors