Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Jan (Tutor in Barrow Upon Soar)

Jan
Jan
Tutor
Barrow Upon Soar, Leicestershire LE12
Feedback Score:
+20
Member Since: 11/09/2015
Last Login: 5 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 1 day

My Qualifications

TEFL cert
International House, London
Teaching English as a foreign langu...
Merit  (1992)
MSc
The University of Nottingham
Mathematics
Distinction  (1984)
PGCE
Jordanhill College of Education, Gl...
Mathematical education
Distinction  (1977)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Jan
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Jan

I am a professional, fully-qualified tutor who moved to this area 6 years ago. I have a master`s degree in Maths and Education, plus teaching qualification in Maths with distinction and many years experience in this country and abroad, tutoring and teaching.

I have the certificate in teaching English as a foreign language, and 7 years experience teaching English abroad and in this country.

I have successfully tutored many pupils in English GCSE over the years.

Finally, I am an experienced IELTS teacher, teaching directly for the exam for 7 years, and working as an examiner in Finland for 2 years.

I thoroughly enjoy teaching one-to-one which I see as an opportunity to pass on my passionate enthusiasm for learning Maths, and developing English language skills. I am experienced in adapting to a wide variety of needs and learning styles. I take a friendly, but professional, hard-working approach.

I teach all levels, including degree level.I have experience with both adults and children of all ages. I am fully conversant with GCSE and A level, all syllabuses. I have a very high success rate with exam candidates.

I offer Maths to all levels including degree level, English to GCSE and English as a foreign language

Availability: I have no hours left now after school for next academic year at home, I`m afraid. This is because there are fewer hours available than usual at this time, as I am spreading pupils out more to keep social distancing and other measures in place.

I do have some daytime available for college students with free time 9-3, especially if you live very near or are happy with online.

In August, I am fully available with several hours free especially if you live relatively near. However, this would now be August only!

I will update this as circumstances change but this is where we are at the moment.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: 30 years experience in home Maths and English tuition both in UK and abroad. All ages and levels.

Teaching in universities, language schools,and secondary schools. Both children and adult classes.

I`ve worked in educational research and I am experienced with students of diverse needs, including dyslexia.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Jan (20)

We have a total of 20 review(s) for Jan.

Vicki (Mrs)
16/02/2020

5/5 Rating

Jan was very accommodating when booking a tuition slot.


Alison (Mrs)
29/01/2020

5/5 Rating

Excellent tutor.


Abdirahman (Mr)
24/04/2019

5/5 Rating

She`s very helpful tutor!


Nikki (Mrs)
04/01/2019

5/5 Rating

Jan is excellent and has helped my daughter massively with her a-level maths. We would highly recommend her.


Yasmin (Miss)
30/12/2018

5/5 Rating

Fantastic tutor .


nilam (Mrs)
12/12/2018

5/5 Rating

Very good


Aimee (Mrs)
29/09/2018

5/5 Rating

Jan was a great tutor...flexible in terms of availability, took time to understand my daughters needs and even set homework on top of her lessons,


Mrs (Mrs)
28/08/2018

5/5 Rating

We are extremely happy with the results of Jan`s tutoring in English Language GCSE (1-9 system) as my son has gone from a grade 3 (August 2017 result) to a passing grade 5 (August 2018 result).

Jan is very patient, pleasant and positive. In a very short period of time Jan was able to quickly gain a clear understanding of my son`s strengths and weaknesses which allowed them to work well together. He enjoyed being taught by Jan and felt her encouraging attitude in her teaching gave him more of a motivation to want to pass English.

So thank you Jan for your all your help.

We would highly recommend


Jess (Miss)
17/07/2018

5/5 Rating

Jan is a great tutor! Enthusiastic, motivating and extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommend her.


Thomas (Mr)
02/11/2017

5/5 Rating

Jan has been very helpful.
She has a very positive manner which instills self confidence in the student. She is very friendly and approachable.


Dan (Mrs)
27/06/2017

5/5 Rating

She is the most excellent tutor I ever met!!! She taught me GCSE English on March 2017 and my exam date on end of June 2017. I`ve learnt many useful language skills and techniques of how to tackle important information to answer every question in the mock exam paper. I like the way she uses Mind Mapping style to make things simple and clear. She also help me with GCSE Maths. She is good at giving me great examples, clear explanation and even simple steps to follow. I strongly recommend Ms.Jan to you. She is my GCSE`s goddess now, if I can give her 6 stars even 10 stars I would.


Arwa (Miss)
29/05/2017

5/5 Rating

She is the best..

I learned a lot from here preparing for my IELTS EXAM..


Thanks to here I`m more confident in my English skills.


Helen (Mrs)
10/10/2016

5/5 Rating

My daughter has had four lessons with Jan so far and is already starting to gain more confidence. Jan is very patient and understanding. We are very happy that we found her!


Sophie (Mrs)
03/08/2016

4/5 Rating

A good match


Caroline (Mrs)
29/04/2016

5/5 Rating

Jan is a great tutor. She`s given my son so much confidence and help with his GCSE maths.


Tom (Mr)
19/04/2016

5/5 Rating

Jan is a great tutor who is helping me with my GCSE maths revision. She is very clear, and explains the work so that I can really understand. She shows me where there are gaps in my work and really helps me to see where I can improve.


Mark ()
06/03/2016

5/5 Rating

Jan was very friendly and quickly built a good rapport with my daughter. She quickly identified my daughter`s strengths and weaknesses, and set appropriate homework for her. What we really appreciated was Jan`s assessment that my daughter did not need, for now, more than the two lessons i.e. Jan provided us with what my daughter needed, no more, no less. I would happily recommend Jan and if necessary would happily employ her services again.


Carey (Mrs)
04/03/2016

5/5 Rating

My daughter has only had a few lessons to date but already she has a much better understanding, is growing in confidence and has come on in leaps and bounds. Jan seems to be able to explain things very clearly and has built a good rapport with my daughter - Jan is tutoring A level maths for my daughter


Ross (Mr)
13/01/2016

5/5 Rating

Excellent tutor, I have progressed a great deal since being taught by Jan in relation to an Open University Maths course. Would have no hesitation in recommending to others.


Julie (Ms)
15/11/2015

5/5 Rating

A very friendly lady who has lots of patience and understanding, would highly recommend.


Nearby Locations

Barrow Upon SoarBurton On The WoldsEast LeakeLeicestershireLoughboroughMountsorrelQuorn / QuorndonSilebyWymeswoldBarrow Upon Soar English TutorsBarrow Upon Soar Maths TutorsBurton On The Wolds English TutorsBurton On The Wolds Maths TutorsEast Leake English TutorsEast Leake Maths TutorsLeicestershire English TutorsLeicestershire Maths TutorsLoughborough English TutorsLoughborough Maths TutorsMountsorrel English TutorsMountsorrel Maths TutorsQuorn / Quorndon English TutorsQuorn / Quorndon Maths TutorsSileby English Tutors