Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Chris (Tutor in Nottinghamshire)

Chris has disabled his/her profile. You connot contact this Tutor at this time.

Chris
Chris
Tutor
Nottinghamshire
Home Town:
Member Since: 27/03/2018
Last Login: 13 months ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 17 minutes

Qualifications

PhD
The University of Sheffield
Applied Mathematics
-  (2018)
MSci
The University of Nottingham
Physics with Theoretical Astrophysi...
1st  (2014)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Chris
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 0.00 to 35.00 per hour
GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Astronomy£35.00£35.00£35.00£35.00
Computer Programming--£35.00£35.00
Maths£35.00£35.00£35.00£35.00
Personal Statements£35.00£35.00£35.00£35.00
Physics£35.00£35.00£35.00
Information about Chris

Prices are negotiable especially for regular students or when associated costs like travel are low for me. If interested please get in touch.

Maths and Science are some of the toughest subjects but as a result they are also amongst the most rewarding, useful and valued. A good understanding of them paves the way to success in many areas.

I am passionate about these topics, particularly Physics and Maths, as well as education. School teachers do a very important job, but much of their effort is spent on administration, planning and discipline rather than actual teaching. This is why I like tutoring one-to-one - it provides the opportunity to cut away the inefficiencies of schools and the classroom environment and focus 100% on developing the knowledge and skills of a pupil.

I aim to provide a reliable tutoring service. I am happy to travel to your home when feasible, meet in a public place, or hold sessions in my own flat, which I share with my wife in the suburb of Lenton, not far from the QMC and Nottingham University. I can be flexible. Additionally, I`m happy to be contacted by tutees with small questions between sessions.

In addition to my major subjects of Maths and Physics, I`m happy to discuss other sciences. I`m familiar with the Chemistry syllabus up to A-Level and some Biology up to GCSE. I also possess a high level of computing and programming skills, and can teach this if desired too.

Availability: Flexible availability. Weekdays and weekends. Term-time and holidays. Morning, afternoon and evening. Get in touch and I`m sure we can work something out.

Please note that I do not have a car so my ability to travel to your location depends on availability of reasonable public transport at a suitable time.

I am willing to give a free first lesson. By doing this I am trusting potential clients to intend to have more than just one lesson, else I will not be able to continue offering this.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I have 4 years of experience teaching first and second year undergraduate students of maths, physics, engineering and computer science at the University of Sheffield.

This was done alongside my Ph.D in Mathematics also at the University of Sheffield. I studied the cosmology and gravity of the early universe and published several scientific papers on this topic.

Prior to this, I graduated from the University of Nottingham with a First Class Master`s degree in Physics with Theoretical Astrophysics.

Previous education: Grades A-A* in Maths, Further Maths and Physics at A-Level and 13 GCSEs at A* or A including Maths and Physics.

Additionally, I have previously worked for people including Ofqual on assessing the difficulty of proposed GCSE and A-Level Maths questions.


© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.266 seconds
twitter    facebook