Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEconomics Tutors

James (Tutor in London)

James
James
Tutor
London, London
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 24/07/2013
Last Login: 2 years ago
Response Rate: 85%
Expected Response: < 17 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

MSc
London School of Economics and Poli...
Economics
Pass  (2010)
BA
University of Exeter
Economics
1st  (2009)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated James
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 35.00 to 40.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Economics--£35.00£40.00£40.00
Information about James

Individualised learning is something I strongly believe in, with economics I have found that some students learn through using maths, some through real world examples and others require in-depth discussion of the topic at hand.

In my current job at the government and previous role in consultancy, one of the key skills required is conveying economic concepts quickly and effective to ministers, policy officials and clients, many of whom have little background in economics. This is something I find challenging but also enjoyable, and tutoring offers another avenue to improve these vital skills. I try to use the experience gained through my day job to use real examples of how sometimes abstract economic concepts impact on the real world, I have found that colleagues and students find this approach useful in gaining an understanding of these concepts.

My tutoring of maths involves working through example questions and identifying the methods that need to be employed. It is then a case of coaching the student to remember these steps and helping them learn to apply them to the range of possible questions under each topic. In my time at LSE I comprehensively studied the theory and application of statistics and I find this aspect particularly enjoyable to teach.

Finally I recognise the importance of preparing students for exams. I work to ensure that students recognise the formulaic approach needed to exam success and work to train them so that they are able to tailor their approach to exams appropriately.

Availability: Very flexible, evening, weekdays, weekends

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I am a Maths and Economics A level tutor with three years experience working throughout London. I have worked with students of various nationalities and am adept at helping students with their written English, spelling, sentence structure and essay planning. I also tutor younger students (12-16 years) over the range of subjects that they study.

Contact this Tutor
Feedback For James (1)
We have a total of 1 review(s) for James.

elizabeth (Miss)
27/03/2014

4/5 Rating

Helped alot with my essay structuring, as i put it to practice i got better grades during our class tests! thank you


Nearby Locations

ArsenalDrayton ParkFinsbury ParkHolloway RoadArsenal Economics TutorsDrayton Park Economics TutorsFinsbury Park Economics TutorsHolloway Road Economics Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.203 seconds
twitter    facebook