Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Thomas (Tutor in Oxford)

Thomas
Thomas
Tutor
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Feedback Score:
+5
Member Since: 09/11/2015
Last Login: 3 days ago
Response Rate: 70%
Expected Response: < 7 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

BA
Oxford University
Chinese (4 years)
2:2  (2012)
A Level
Wycliffe College
Japanese
A  (2007)
A Level
Wycliffe College
Maths
A  (2007)
A Level
Wycliffe College
Physics
A  (2007)
A Level
Wycliffe College
Spanish
A  (2007)
AS LEVEL
Wycliffe College
Chemistry
A  (2006)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 40.00 to 50.00 per hour
GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Chemistry£40.00£50.00--
Chinese-£50.00-£40.00
Ielts--£40.00£40.00
Japanese£40.00--£40.00
Mandarin£40.00---
Maths£40.00£50.00--
Physics£40.00£50.00--
Information about Thomas

I am an enthusiastic teacher with over five years of teaching experience across a wide range of age groups and subjects. Having been lucky enough to study Japanese at school, I went on to study Mandarin at Oxford University, and am now training to be a full-time teacher of Physics and Mathematics at Kings College, London. My love for foreign languages and culture is rivalled only by my fascination for Nature.

As a teacher of Mandarin and Japanese, I particularly enjoy teaching grammar, pronunciation and writing. My initial teaching training at age 19 (Cert. TESOL) forms the basis for my approach to language teaching, and I have developed a wide bank of materials for teaching students of all ages and abilities: small classes of primary school students; individual pupils sitting GCSEs and A Levels; corporate CEOs and adults from all works of life with a love of East Asian languages and cultures.

As a teacher of physical sciences and mathematics, I am committed to developing the understanding of my students in a systematic and engaging way. I currently teach Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics to students at all stages of the English national curriculum, from KS1 to A Level, and enjoy providing creative as well as results-driven lessons to my students.

I enjoy teaching both children and adults. Above all, I want to empower people by instilling in them the same love for learning as I myself have benefited from: for East Asian languages and culture, and for the laws of mathematics and science with which we seek to capture the beauty of Nature.

Availability: I am available on weekdays after 4pm and on weekends. Please enquire!

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Experience: I have experience of teaching a range of subjects to students of all ages and abilities, in a variety of group and one-to-one settings. I currently teach students at all levels of the national curriculum, students from international backgrounds, and adult learners with a range of business and personal requirements. I greatly enjoy the opportunity and the challenge to participate in the provision of education in a variety of contexts.

My first professional experience of teaching was at age nineteen in Japan, where I worked for a year as a teacher of English: an experience taught me the importance of clear communication and strategy in teaching. More recently, as a self-employed tutor, I have relished the opportunity to teach a wide variety of subjects at to learners from very different backgrounds. In doing so, I have enjoyed the challenge of teaching in a way that is honest to the subject but that my students can understand. I particularly love developing creative exercises and activities to help learners relate new topics to other areas of their experience.

I started studying Japanese in secondary school at age 14, and went on to compete in national and international speaking competitions. I studied Oriental Studies at university and currently teach Mandarin and Japanese to primary, secondary and adult-learner students.

Contact this Tutor
More Photos (2)

 This user has a total of 2 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Thomas (5)
We have a total of 5 review(s) for Thomas.

Gary (Mr)
13/10/2019

5/5 Rating

Tom is a great tutor, very friendly, warm, and offered great advice and teaching. Highly recommended.


Sara ()
27/10/2016

5/5 Rating

Very good


Beata (Mrs)
03/10/2016

5/5 Rating

I highly recommend Thomas, who helped my son in his first weeks to get familiar with English. As we have just moved to London it was essential that I find a good and friendly tutor for him. Thomas is an excellent teacher, his lessons were consistent and he managed to keep my son interested in learning. He is very friendly and even played games with my son in his spare time. Thank you!!


Luis (Mr)
09/03/2016

5/5 Rating

As a language tutor myself, I think I know what a good tutor is and Tom is excellent. He has the passion, the discipline, the patience, the knowledge and the skills to make a language class an enjoyable experience, which, in my experience, directly impacts on results. Very happy indeed. Luís del Nero


Mardi (Ms)
17/02/2016

5/5 Rating

I realised that my daughter was falling behind at school with her Mandarin. Tom has been fantastic. He is friendly and approachable but serious and dedicated with his teaching. He has made all the difference.


Nearby Locations

OxfordOxford Chemistry TutorsOxford Mandarin TutorsOxford Maths TutorsOxford Physics Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.313 seconds
twitter    facebook