Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Rosie

Rosie
Rosie
Tutor
Cardiff, Norfolk CF5
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 01/07/2017
Last Login: 39 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 49 minutes

My Qualifications

PGCE
Canterbury Christ Church University
Mathematics (TeachFirst)
Pass  (2016)
PGCE
Canterbury Christ Church University
Mathematics (TeachFirst)
Pass  (2016)
QTS
Department for Education
QTS Secondary
Pass  (2016)
BSc
University of St Andrews
Economics and Psychology
2:1  (2015)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified

PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Maths-£30£30-£30

Information about Rosie

I`m a passionate enthusiastic and encouraging qualified Maths teacher. I really enjoy tutoring students and seeing the rapid progress they can make with the right support and encouragement. I aim to tailor sessions to each student to make them enjoyable and relevant, whilst allowing the student to make progress towards their goals. I am able to relate well to students, building students confidence in their own ability.

In February I moved to Cardiff from Norwich, where i`ve spent the last 6 years teaching and tutoring.
For the past 3 years I taught full time at one of the top performing schools in Norfolk, Hethersett Academy. Prior to that I taught 2 days a week at a special school inside a low secure psychiatric hospital, home schooled students who had been excluded from school and tutored privately in the evenings. I trained to teach as a participant on the TeachFirst leadership development programme, spending 2 years working in a tough coastal school. I studied Economics and Psychology at the University of St Andrews.

I am married, and have a 6 month old baby boy (hence why i`m not looking to return to full time teaching currently!)

Availability: I am available in the evenings from 4-9pm. I prefer tutoring in person as I feel you can establish a better relationship with pupils and more easily understand their challenges when you are sat in the same room. I am happy to travel to students houses if local.

That being said I am also open to tutoring online. I have experience remote tutoring, having spent lockdown teaching all of my classes online plus having kept on a couple of longstanding tutees from Norwich when i moved to Wales. I have a visualiser camera which allows me to easily demonstrate methods and introduce concepts.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I have taught a wide variety of age and ability groups, so i`m just as confident finding strategies to help students who find Maths tough as I am extending and challenging students with a passion for Maths.

The fact that I am a current classroom practitioner means that I am up to date with the methods and content currently being taught in schools. I also have a wide range of resources to draw from.

I am flexible in my approach, and will work with the pupil to decide how they will benefit most from tutoring. I like to ask a lot of questions, guiding the student to discover things for themselves, rather than lecturing!

I have a lot of experience with students who find Maths tricky, and aim to build confidence and encourage students. I know several ways to explain concepts, so if the first doesn`t `click` with the student we can try a different approach.

Conversely if students feel that they aren`t being stretched enough in class and want to achieve the highest grades I am well placed to support them with this and help them to really fly. I`ve taught many students who went on to achieve grade 8`s and 9`s, including some who could consistently score over 95% on past papers.

I have pastoral experience ranging from form tutoring to running after school clubs. Being relatively young myself I find i`m able to relate well to students and to engage them by making content and examples relevant.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Rosie (1)

We have a total of 1 review(s) for Rosie.

Andrew (Dr)
18/10/2017

5/5 Rating

Rosie is conscientious, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic lady who engages well with my son and works well to support him in his learning. Highly recommended.


Nearby Locations

BarryCantonCardiffCulverhouse CrossDinas PowysFairwaterLeckwithLlandaff / LlandāfMaindyPenarthPontcannaPontypriddRiversideVictoria ParkPontypridd Maths TutorsBarry Maths TutorsCanton Maths TutorsCardiff Maths TutorsCulverhouse Cross Maths TutorsDinas Powys Maths TutorsFairwater Maths TutorsLeckwith Maths TutorsLlandaff / Llandāf Maths TutorsMaindy Maths TutorsPenarth Maths TutorsPontcanna Maths TutorsRiverside Maths TutorsVictoria Park Maths Tutors