Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Elpi

Elpi
Elpi
Tutor
Leeds, Yorkshire
Feedback Score:
+10
Member Since: 29/11/2020
Last Login: 9 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 48 minutes

My Qualifications

PhD
University of Leeds
Molecular Biology and Behavioural Neurobiology
Unconditional pass  (2018)
MSc
University of Crete
Molecular Biology and Biomedinice
1  (2011)
Degree
University of Thessaloniki
Biology
2.1  (2008)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Elpi
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 38.00 to 55.00 per hour
GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Biology£38£45£55£55
Communication Skills--£55£55
Neuroscience--£55-
Presentation--£55-

Information about Elpi

** Taking maternity leave August - September - October - November - December 2024, resuming with lessons January 2025**

I have 3 higher education degrees (PhD, MSc, BSc) and until recently held a position as a Teaching and Research Fellow in the University of Leeds (UK). Overall, I have 6 years of teaching and tutoring experience. I have always been excited by animals and nature, as well as intrigued about how our cells and bodies work. Teaching my students and transferring them my knowledge and enthusiasm about “all things biology” has been unbelievably rewarding and fulfilling.

My PhD was awarded with no corrections, and my MSc was awarded with a 1st. I have strong experience in zoology, evolution, development, neurobiology, behaviour, molecular and cellular biology. I also have experience in biochemistry, physiology, ecology and immunology. My PhD enables me to understand complex matters in Biology, knowing the forefront of knowledge about the subject matter, researching fast and efficiently when required and have high standards.

My roles during my work at the University of Leeds consisted of: tutoring, 1 to 1 supervision, assisting in practicals, marking exams/essays, assessing student performance, feedback on reports/ essays/ thesis, invigilating exams, leading revision groups and giving lectures.

I am familiar with the curriculum for AS/A levels according to the gov.uk guidance. I am familiar with all exam boards and own the following textbooks (AQA, OCR A, Edexcel A and B, WJEC). During my lessons, I use my own powerpoint presentations for each topic covered, which I then share with my students to aid with their revision. I also share various online material I approve, to help further with their revision and understanding. Finally, I work with a lot of exam past papers and mock tests.

I am guided by my students in regards to what they want to get out of the tutoring, their pace, understanding and past knowledge. I use the Socratic method of questioning, try to enhance my student’s critical thought and help them understand complex subject matters, while assessing their understanding. I give only constructive feedback. I want them to learn and enjoy the process because Biology rocks! 😊;;;;;;;;

I am a very approachable, friendly person with a lot of energy and enthusiasm. I respect each student’s different pace of learning and individual characters. I deal very well with all kinds of students even if they are shy, quiet or not very confident. I am more than happy to answer any questions you may have.

Kind regards and stay safe,

Availability: Weekdays 10.00 am - 20.00 pm
Weekends 11.00 am - 20.00 pm
Please check Tutorhunt schedule for more detailed and updated availability.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: * 3 Higher education degrees in Biology (PhD, MSc, BSc).
* 7 years experience in tutoring Biology (Degree and A level): tutoring 1 to 1 and small group tutorials.
* 2 years worked as a Teaching and Research fellow in the University of Leeds: demonstrating practicals, supervising, giving lectures, marking and assessing student performance/essays/lab reports/thesis/PhD thesis.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Elpi (10)

We have a total of 10 review(s) for Elpi.

Mo (Mr)
02/01/2024

5/5 Rating

Elpi has been brilliant with my son and has really helped him with his understanding of the biology. She is excellent at explaining things and builds knowledge around topics so my son has a greater understanding of the concept. She has lots of additional resources too, which my son has found really useful


Natalie (Mrs)
01/07/2023

5/5 Rating

What can I see apart from brilliant ! Elpi was very flexible, communication great, reliable, friendly and a great teacher. My son had to complete his A level biology in 12 months, Elpi has helped in to complete all modules and prepare him for his exams, in which he was very happy how they all went. He couldn’t have done it without her, thank you so much !


Niki (Mrs)
30/06/2023

5/5 Rating

Really good lesson targeted areas where knowledge was missing, great resources.


Nearby Locations

BirkenshawDrighlingtonFarsleyStanningleyBirkenshaw Biology TutorsDrighlington Biology TutorsFarsley Biology TutorsStanningley Biology Tutors