Tutor HuntSubjectsBiochemistry Lessons

Sara

Sara
Sara
Tutor
Isle Of Wight, Hampshire
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 08/07/2017
Last Login: 65 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 23 minutes

My Qualifications

Masters
Imperial College London
Graduate Medicine
Expected First  (2017)
BSc
University College London (University of London)
Bachelor of Arts and Sciences
First  (2016)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Sara
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 13.00 to 81.25 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Biochemistry--£62.50£68.75£75£75
Biology£50£56.25£62.50£68.75£75£75
Bmat---£81.25£81.25-
Chemistry£50£56.25£62.50£68.75£75£75
English£50£56.25£62.50£68.75£75£75
Entrance Exams£62.50£68.75£68.75£81.25£81.25£81.25
General Science£13-----
Maths£50£56.25£62.50£68.75--
Medicine---£75£75-
Ucat---£81.25£81.25-

Information about Sara

I am in my 6th year of Graduate Medicine at Imperial College London, having graduated with a first class Bachelor of Arts and Sciences (BASc) degree from UCL in 2016. I also have experience working in genetics and neuroscience research and as a paralegal.

Prior to my undergraduate studies, I attended St Swithun’s School in Winchester, a leading all-girls institution. There, I completed my GCSEs (French, Spanish, Latin, Mathematics, English, Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Geography), AS level (Biology, Chemistry, General Studies, Latin and Maths) and A2 level examinations (Biology, Chemistry and Latin). I also passed scholarship exams upon entry to the sixth form, becoming an Academic Scholar. While at school, I held positions as both as Academic Representative and Pastoral Representative, and since leaving have maintained strong links to tutoring and mentoring both within and outside of university.

While at UCL, I was a departmental mentor to many students in years below. As a member of the first cohort to complete the BASc degree, upon graduation I returned to give annual talks to subsequent cohorts on entry to Graduate Medicine.

I have successfully undergone the medical admissions process twice (undergraduate entry in 2012 and graduate entry in 2016), scoring highly in BMAT and UKCAT exams. As such, I am very familiar with both the logistics and potential areas of difficulty when faced with medical school entry, and am very comfortable with guiding a tutee along this route - be it with medical school selection, interview technique, personal statements, admissions testing, or brushing up on A level science.
I am also offering tuition on pre-clinical years of the medicine course.

Availability: I have flexible availability to meet your needs, potentially free on weekdays, evenings and weekends.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: My areas of expertise are GCSE, A level and undergraduate sciences, pre-clinical medicine and univeristy admissions. I also have experience in teaching and mentoring younger children, assisting with homework and boosting their academic performance. Being a medical student, I have had opportunities to work with children with learning disabilities especially during Paediatric placements.
I am based in SW London (Chelsea and Fulham). Happy to tutor in person and via Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Skype.

TUTORING APPROACH:

I believe the most important thing in tutoring is the ability to connect with students and share a creative learning experience, not simply stating information, but thinking about how to learn, to question, create, and reanalyse knowledge.

I believe in teaching in a manner that is both simple and coherent, allowing students to engage with the material in a manner that interests and motivates them. This will depend on learning style, i.e. a visual learner may do better with diagrams and flashcards, others from repetition and mnemonics, and so it is equally important to consider how information is best relayed to the tutee. I think that my main strengths lie in patience, in understanding what it is that a student is finding difficult to conceptualise, and in explaining these concepts in a personalised manner and pace often not possible in a classroom.
I will work with families to sculpt a plan for sessions based on requirements and availability. Based on academic syllabi, deadlines and desires, we will focus on identifying problem areas in subject matter and concepts, tailored to examination boards where appropriate.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Sara (1)

We have a total of 1 review(s) for Sara.

Fiammetta (Mrs)
16/12/2020

5/5 Rating

Sara is an amazing tutor. very organized, reliable and always on time. She is a true inspiration for our daughter. Highly reccomanded.


Nearby Locations

BrockenhurstFreshwaterHordleLymingtonMilford On SeaPenningtonSwayTotlandBrockenhurst Biology TutorsBrockenhurst Chemistry TutorsBrockenhurst English TutorsBrockenhurst Maths TutorsHordle Biology TutorsHordle Chemistry TutorsHordle English TutorsHordle Maths TutorsLymington Biology TutorsLymington Chemistry TutorsLymington English TutorsLymington Maths TutorsMilford On Sea Biology TutorsMilford On Sea Chemistry TutorsMilford On Sea English Tutors