Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Joanna (Tutor in Stourbridge)

Joanna
Joanna
Tutor
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Home Town: Stourbridge
Member Since: 05/09/2018
Last Login: 20 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

Qualifications

BEd
Newman University
B.Ed Hons
2:2  (1992)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
We have verified this users DBS
How references rated Joanna
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - unlike most other tuition websites Tutor Hunt takes zero commission
Information about Joanna

Hi, I am Jo and recently I took the decision to leave a teaching job that I loved. I had worked as a primary school teacher for 25 years but felt unable to continue teaching in a system that can ‘fail’ children aged only 10 or 11. I passionately believe that learning should be built around life-skills and that the best, most beneficial learning, happens when children are not restricted to learning just to pass tests.
Maths is a subject that we use daily, but that many children are scared by. My approach is very practical – maths for life, not for tests. Reasoning skills can be developed through practical activities so that children understand the purpose of any formal calculations. Even learning times tables doesn’t have to be painful if it’s part of a ball game or card game!
In English it allows me to focus work on a child’s individual interests. Because they choose the theme, learning is more purposeful and engaging to the child - therefore knowledge increases as well as literacy skills. I am aware of a broad range of authors, and keep up to date with exciting new titles because it is always a delight to introduce children to an author with whom they are not yet familiar – leading to great reading and writing potential.

Availability: Because my approach is more practical, I prefer to tutor from home so that I know I have the necessary resources available. I am currently working with children from different years within KS2 in subjects where they would either like to improve understanding or because they have a particular educational need. I would prefer to keep availability to the weekdays, but I can be flexible should the need arise.
It is important that your child feels comfortable with me, so I am happy to arrange a preliminary meeting.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: During my teaching career I have worked in years 3, 4, 5 and 6. Having worked in Year 6 for eight years, I am fully aware of the objectives that children are required to meet under the National Curriculum - in English, maths as well as the foundation subjects - by the time they leave primary school. So I am experienced in teaching the skills and strategies necessary to pass SATs. However, tutoring allows the freedom for more child led learning, whilst still enabling the development of the skills that underpin English and maths. I was the literacy coordinator for KS2

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes


Nearby Locations

Brierley HillHagleyKidderminsterKingswinfordStourbridgeKidderminster English TutorsKidderminster Maths TutorsBrierley Hill English TutorsBrierley Hill Maths TutorsHagley English TutorsHagley Maths TutorsKingswinford English TutorsKingswinford Maths TutorsStourbridge English TutorsStourbridge Maths Tutors
© 2005-2018 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.172 seconds
twitter    facebook