Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEFL Lessons

Osla (Tutor in Durham)

Osla
Osla
Tutor
Durham, Durham
Home Town: Durham
Member Since: 03/12/2019
Last Login: 14 days ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data
Contact this Tutor
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
How references rated Osla
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Efl£31.25£31.25£31.25---
French£31.25£31.25£31.25£31.25£31.25£31.25
German£31.25£31.25£31.25£31.25£31.25£31.25
Guitar Acoustic---£31.25--
Piano---£31.25--
Ukulele---£31.25--
Information about Osla

I`m a 38 year old who grew up in the North East but have lived abroad: in Berlin (6 years) and in the French speaking Caribbean (1 year). I love languages and music and am passionate about both! I speak French and German to a high level, having lived in both countries and can also speak Spanish reasonably well. I love learning new languages and so have also taught myself a little Italian, Swedish and Icelandic.

I`ve been speaking and learning French and German for 25 years and studied both at University level (I have a French BA from the University of Leeds). I lived in Germany for 6 years and travel back there fairly often for work. My German is close to a native speaker`s and I have often been mistaken for a German by various Germans! Pronunciation is very important to me, and something which I believe can be learnt! I also lived in Martinique for a year and have French friends I still have a conversation with every now and then. As a result I have a love and a very good understanding of both cultures, which I am very motivated to convey!

Music wise: I am also a proficient musician, writing and performing my own songs on guitar, piano and ukulele.
I`ve been playing piano since I was 5 and play in my own style (I`ve been compared to Ludovico Einaudi and Tori Amos- real compliments!) I have been classically trained, up to Grade 5, and can read music, but my gift is learning to play by ear and playing around with chords, as opposed to classical music.

I`ve been playing guitar for 23 years and perform a lot of fingerpicking, acoustic style songs. I`m not classically trained in guitar, I just enjoy playing and performing so if a pop/ indie/ folk- influenced fingerpicking style is the kind of guitar you`d like to learn then I am your tutor! I have been playing ukulele for a couple of years too.

Availability: I am currently available on most days of the week, except wednesdays.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I have been working as a tutor for around 4 years, teaching languages and music.

I`m a qualified TEFL teacher and have been teaching English as a foreign language abroad, in a classroom setting on language camps for over 10 years. I`ve been working with children since I was 14 (on my Dad`s nature centre) and have lot of experience in making learning fun. One-to-one I have worked with adults and children alike, with great success and am comfortable in teaching online as well.

As a lifelong language learner, I am also aware of the difficulties and best methods for learning a language well, including memorisation techniques for learning vocabulary. My preferred method for language learning (and a huge part of my work over the last 10 years) is conversation, however I am skilled at creating engaging writing or reading activities and am passionate about creative writing, which I have also been teaching over the past year.

I enjoy working with children of all ages (though I have taught adults as well) and have taught classes for 2-17 year olds! I am skilled at bringing out the best in children and am dedicated to a positive learning environment, as I believe it`s the key to success!

As regards my music teaching style: I believe in learning in a relaxed fun way. The focus is always on teaching songs they would like to play: they let me know the kind of music they enjoy and I either write the parts (or help them write the parts) on piano and/ or guitar. I teach music theory alongside the instrument, helping the student to gain a more full musical understanding. I find this works really well and results in students who are self motivated and inspired to learn!

I would be happy to hear from you!

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

Annfield PlainBishop AucklandBrandonDurhamEsh WinningFerryhillLangley ParkSpennymoorUshaw MoorBishop Auckland French TutorsBishop Auckland German TutorsBishop Auckland Piano TutorsDurham French TutorsDurham German TutorsDurham Piano TutorsFerryhill French TutorsFerryhill German TutorsFerryhill Piano TutorsSpennymoor French TutorsSpennymoor German TutorsSpennymoor Piano TutorsAnnfield Plain French TutorsAnnfield Plain German TutorsAnnfield Plain Piano Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.359 seconds
twitter    facebook