Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Karl (Tutor in Leeds)

Karl
Karl
Tutor
Leeds, Yorkshire
Feedback Score:
+2
Member Since: 04/01/2018
Last Login: 7 months ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 31 minutes

My Qualifications

PhD
Sheffield Hallam University
Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Pass with minor corr  (2017)
MSc
University of Central Lancashire (U...
Molecular Biology
Pass with minor corr  (2014)
BSc
University of Central Lancashire (U...
Biomedical Sciences
2:1  (2013)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified

GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Biochemistry£31.25£31.25£31.25£31.25
Biology£31.25£31.25£31.25£31.25
General Science£31.25--£31.25

Information about Karl

A patient, intuitive and professional research scientist with 6 years laboratory experience. With a Ph.D, MSc and BSc (Hons) degrees I have 8 years experience studying at university. I have mentored students ranging from GCSE to postgraduate PhD students, offering help and guidance wherever it may be needed.

My style of teaching is to find out what you currently know and build from there. Everyone has knowledge at different levels and every one of us learns differently. I learned things a lot better if I was interested in that particular subject. I always try to make learning interesting for each individual person, with patience and dignity. We could even do a fun and safe experiment that anyone could do at home. Whether you need a refresh or want to learn something completely new, let me know and we`ll see what we can do.

Availability: Any time in the evenings and weekends.

Willing to travel: 2 miles

Experience: After graduating with a 2:1 in Biomedical Sciences, I undertook an MSc (by research) in Molecular Biology. This research was in collaboration with several NHS Hospitals around the North West and centred on a group of Brain Cancers termed Gliomas. I then undertook a Ph.D in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry researching how cells regulate protein synthesis in response to various stresses (your cells get stressed too!).

Following on from studying, I undertook a short contract at Lancaster University as a Research Associate looking at novel ways of regenerating bone tissue. Currently, I’m a Research Fellow at Leeds University investigating Ribosome specialisation.

Over the last 5 years, I have tutored and mentored many students at all levels, including GCSE students, college students that have started university and undergraduates that have gone on to do PhD research. I currently tutor 1 PhD and 1 A-level student.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Karl (2)

We have a total of 2 review(s) for Karl.

Katryna (Mrs)
22/08/2019

5/5 Rating

Karl was great. Explained things in an understanding manner. Did experiments. Made it fun.


Jiwar (Miss)
07/04/2018

4/5 Rating

I cannot say much about this website as I have only used it to find a tutor. However it’s quite annoying that you have to buy contact details before you can talk to your tutor. Regarding my tutor I was very lucky as he always have time for me and helps me wherever he can. In addition he replies back very quick.


Nearby Locations

HolbeckHolbeck Biology Tutors