Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Daniel

Daniel
Daniel
Tutor
Crook, Durham
Feedback Score:
+4
Member Since: 14/05/2014
Last Login: 4 days ago
Response Rate: 90%
Expected Response: < 1 hour

My Qualifications

MSci
University College London (University of Lond...
Astrophysics
1st  (2007)
A Level
Wyggeston Sixth Form College
Maths
A  (2003)
A Level
Wyggeston Sixth Form College
Physics
A  (2003)
A Level
Wyggeston Sixth Form College
Computing
A  (2003)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified

Information about Daniel

Hi, I have studied for a PhD in theoretical astrophysics at Durham University and am an experienced full-time tutor. My strengths are mathematics, computing and physics (particularly astrophysics). I am passionate about my subjects and making them interesting - school methods can be constraining and make subjects dry when they don`t have to be.

I am friendly and outgoing and enjoy tutoring very much. I enjoy computing, number and logic puzzles and music.

Availability: Daytime, Evening and Weekend. If the distance I have to travel is significant I may have to charge petrol costs, which are minimal.

Willing to travel: 20 miles

Experience: I have now tutored over 20 people through this site and everything has gone very well. I have also tutored ~100 other students via other tutoring websites. Some students were found through word-of-mouth, so my full experience is not recorded on these websites. I have tutored various members of the same family and parental friend groups.

I have taught Entrance Exam 13+, GCSE and A Level Maths, Further Maths, Computing and Physics across a range of exam boards (OCR, AQA, Edexcel, SQA, WJEC, CIE and school entrance exams). My youngest tutee was 7 years old and I have taught adults studying for work-related exams and GCSE re-sits. I also helped students with applications to Universities including Oxford and Cambridge and helped students prepare for the Maths Admissions Test (MAT) and Physics Aptitude Test (PAT) of these and related institutes. For the MAT I am now on the college`s contact list for future students. I have also helped students prepare for the Sixth Term Examination Paper (STEP) exams and the UKMT Junior, Intermediate and Senior Challenges.

As well as academic help I have helped with personal statements. One recent one is now being used as a model statement at the college. I have arranged meetings between students and members of staff at Durham University to help improve experience and inform university course choices. I currently tutor online over a wide geographical area, and have taught students from Scotland to China.

I have done some intensive, daily pre-exam sessions for students and am also currently guiding students through their ongoing studies for the current academic year and upcoming entrance exams. Most of my tutees tend to be for an academic year, though for some I have guided them from pre-GCSE and seen them go to University.

I have also taught mathematics and physics to younger family members, helping with the studying for their exams. I have taught students with a variety of educational needs including people on the autistic and asperger`s spectrum and have had particularly good comments from parents on this front that can be supplied as references if required.

At University doing complex research I learnt to explain things clearly and believe this stands me in good stead for tutoring.

Contact this Tutor

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Daniel (4)

We have a total of 4 review(s) for Daniel.

Helen (Mrs)
21/10/2020

5/5 Rating

Great tutor, really nice chap and makes the lesson a great extra lesson. Well organised and makes things easy! My son now understands things he could not get his head around before. I would definitely recommend Daniel.

Tutors Response :

Thank you for the kind comments, a pleasure.


Regan (Miss)
10/03/2016

5/5 Rating

Very helpful and local, makes exam questions/work clear and easier to understand.


lesley (Mrs)
31/10/2015

5/5 Rating

My son has had two lessons so far and Daniel is proving to be a great tutor. He provides very informative sessions.


Abdelmoniem (Dr)
22/09/2015

5/5 Rating

Our kids found Daniel knowledgeable and helpful and extremely approachable. My daughter got an A* in both Physics and Matgematics in IGSCE. We strongly recommend Daniel.


Nearby Locations

Barnard CastleBishop AucklandCastlesideDentonHeighingtonShildonTow LawBarnard Castle Maths TutorsBishop Auckland Computing TutorsBishop Auckland Maths TutorsBishop Auckland Physics TutorsShildon Computing TutorsShildon Maths TutorsShildon Physics TutorsCastleside Computing TutorsCastleside Maths TutorsCastleside Physics TutorsDenton Maths TutorsDenton Physics TutorsHeighington Computing TutorsHeighington Maths TutorsHeighington Physics Tutors