Tutor HuntSubjectsPhysics Tutors

Matthew (Tutor in Cornwall)

Matthew
Matthew
Tutor
Cornwall
Home Town:
Member Since: 21/11/2019
Last Login: 3 months ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 3 hours

My Qualifications

PGCE
The University of Nottingham
PGCE Secondary (Physics)
2006
BSc
The University of Hertfordshire
Astrophysics
2001

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Matthew
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: 28.00 to 40.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Ib Diploma---£35£40
Physics--£28£35£40

Information about Matthew

Astrophysicist with experience in lecturing in a University setting, as well as holding a PGCE in Science with speciality in Physics Education.

As a Teacher of Physics and outdoors-man, I emphasise and exemplify the idea of intuitive and ingenious practices both in my own life, (both professional and private), as well as in the working practices of the pupils. I strive to approach topics from multiple viewpoints employing multiple intelligence strategies in order that all pupils might connect with the work. I endeavour to use peer assessment as a continual process for monitoring and to allow the pupils to hone their own analytical skills. I am particularly interested in the pedagogical use of ICT both in the classroom and as part of the whole-school philosophy and have been an active part of STEM in previous roles. I encourage a sense of community among students, to promote cooperation both in the classroom and in the wider school community, especially focusing on the role of Science in a wider Environmental context.

As an educator and Teacher of IB Diploma Physics, I have had the opportunity to create a revision course and write an accompanying course book, centred around exam preparation techniques. This was delivered in Geneva, Switzerland through a educational agency, who approached me to create this course, based upon my previous IB Physics credentials. A link to an article written about the creation of the coursebook can be found at the following link:

[contact detail removed]

Availability: Weekdays Monday - Friday 9am - 7pm

Weekends 9am - 7pm

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I have 14 years experience teaching students from ages 11-18, in both UK and international settings, having worked in the UK, Switzerland, Czech Republic and Italy.

My students have gone on to attend Red Brick and Ivy League Universities to study Physics and Physics related Degrees. They have also won scholarships and Internships to institutions such as CERN and EPFL (Lausanne, Switzerland).

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .


Nearby Locations

CamborneChacewaterFalmouthHelstonPenrynPerranporthRedruthSaint AgnesCamborne Physics TutorsChacewater Physics TutorsFalmouth Physics TutorsHelston Physics TutorsPenryn Physics TutorsPerranporth Physics TutorsRedruth Physics TutorsSaint Agnes Physics Tutors