Tutor HuntSubjectsChemistry Tutors

Alexander

Alexander
Alexander
Tutor
Otley, Yorkshire
Feedback Score:
+3
Member Since: 11/12/2020
Last Login: 2 days ago
Response Rate: 30%
Expected Response: < 5 hours

My Qualifications

A Level
Woodhouse Grove School
Further Maths
A*  (2019)
A Level
Woodhouse Grove School
Maths
A*  (2019)
A Level
Woodhouse Grove School
Physics
A*  (2019)
A Level
Woodhouse Grove School
Chemistry
A*  (2019)
ABRSM
Woodhouse Grove School
Associate of the Royal Schools of Music - Saxophone
Merit  (2019)
Other
Woodhouse Grove School
Level 3 Certificate in Financial Studies
A*  (2018)
DipABRSM
Woodhouse Grove School
Music Performance (Clarinet)
Pass  (2018)
GCSE
Woodhouse Grove School
10 GCSEs (or equivalent qualification)
10 A*s or equivalent  (2017)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Alexander
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Alexander

Growing up in the north of England, I was often frustrated by the lack of challenging study that was provided at my local primary school. I increasingly found myself working, independently, outside of the school’s curriculum in order to keep engaged with my learning and make academic progress. This work paid off, and I won a scholarship to the secondary school of my choice, without which my family would never have been able to afford the school’s fees.

I continued working hard, including outside of the curriculum, and I benefitted greatly from the extra guidance the school provided to aid my academic study. Thanks to this, I achieved the equivalent of 10 A*s at GCSE, alongside an A in AS level French, as well as the Duke of Edinburgh’s Bronze Award. This was followed by 4 A*s at A level (in each of maths, further maths, physics and chemistry) and an A* in the London Institute of Banking and Finance’s Level 3 Certificate in Financial Studies. During this time, I earned a Merit in round one of the British Mathematical Olympiad and a Gold in the UK Chemistry Olympiad. I also hold two professional-standard music diplomas (the ARSM on saxophone and the dipABRSM on clarinet), which were both completed while still at school.

From secondary school, I went on to study natural sciences at Peterhouse, Cambridge. I have successfully completed the first year, during which I studied maths, physics, chemistry and materials science. Although this is a very wide-ranging course, it also does not compromise on the depth to which each science can be studied; it has been a great pleasure to engage with a plethora of scientific subjects at a university level. I am currently taking a year away from Cambridge in order to work full-time as an online tutor. On my return to Cambridge, I intend to specialise in neurobiology and experimental psychology, as well as the history and philosophy of science. However, I also hope to continue working as an online tutor in the coming years (at least in a part-time capacity).

When I`m not tutoring, I pursue an interest in science outside of (as well as within) my tutoring career by reading around my subjects and by solving additional problems. Another serious interest of mine is music, and I have had tremendous fun playing in the Cambridge University Wind Orchestra. I also enjoy rowing regularly, for both Leeds Rowing Club and Peterhouse Boat Club, depending on where I am based at the time, and I play a little recreational chess. Additionally, something that is perhaps unexpected of a scientist such as myself, I helped found a poetry society during my time at university, and I enjoy writing submissions in my spare time to present at society meetings.

Availability: I am working full-time as a freelance tutor so I am able to fit in lessons at whichever times suit the student.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I am currently working as a full-time online tutor. I have extensive experience of preparing students for entrance to top universities, including Oxbridge. Drawing upon my own experience as a Cambridge applicant and undergraduate, I offer insights into the admissions tests and interviews required for such institutions. This ensures my tutees are able to maximise their chance of admission to an exciting course at their choice of university. I bring the same ethos to the GCSE and A level science and maths I tutor, and strive to ensure my tutees not only perform their best in their exams, but also find their school learning as rewarding and enjoyable as possible.

Having studied maths, physics, chemistry and materials science as part of my Cambridge natural sciences degree, I am able to tutor students working towards admission to any university maths or physical sciences course. Previously, I have helped students prepare for a range of courses, including mathematics and natural sciences at Cambridge, physics at Oxford, and materials science and engineering at Imperial College London. Additionally, I tutor physics, chemistry, maths, and further maths to A level (and GCSE) standard, as well as the international equivalents of these. Having done a little neurobiology at undergraduate level also, I am no stranger to the biological side of the sciences and am well equipped to tutor separate, or combined, GCSE science.

I have an up-to-date enhanced DBS certificate.

Methodology:

I did very "sciencey" subjects at school and, because I had broad interests, I always lamented how the UK school system forced you to specialise so early. I`ve more than made up for that at university where I earned a place at Cambridge for natural sciences, which is perhaps the broadest course possible - essentially ranging from history to physics.

I know how dull some of the school curriculum can be but, having done a wide range of subjects at university, I know that things get much more exciting later on: a lesson which seems boring at school might be very interesting at degree level. I hope to pass the enthusiasm I`ve gained, from studying engaging university subjects, on to the school students I tutor, and help them find in their school learning the enthusiasm that I now have in my university career. I hope to enable my tutees to have as enjoyable an academic career as I’ve had, by helping them find the things that really excite them in their subjects. This approach will guide the student as they successfully pursue their academic interests as far as they wish to take them, whether that means simply making the most of their school education or going on to excel at a top university. In all cases, I bring the philosophy of individual and attentive focus on the student, which I have experienced in the Cambridge supervision environment, to the private tuition I offer.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Alexander (3)

We have a total of 3 review(s) for Alexander.

Jane (Mrs)
13/05/2021

5/5 Rating

My son used Alexander for Maths & Further Maths and was really pleased with Alex’s tutoring. He was really helpful and knowledgeable beyond Maths. Thank you Alex for all your help.


Joe (Mr)
04/05/2021

5/5 Rating

I had Alex as a tutor to help improve my confidence with A-level Further Maths. After a few months of tutoring, my confidence has definitely improved and I`m feeling more confident for my assessments. Alex was always helpful and I`d recommend him as a tutor.


Ashish (Mr)
15/04/2021

5/5 Rating

The maths lessons from Alexander has immensely helped my child in his preparations for GCSE next year. Not only is his fundamentals are getting stronger but my child is also enjoying the lessons and mathematics in particular. Hence as a parent I am delighted and would highly recommend Alex.


Nearby Locations

BramhopeHarrogatePateley BridgeHarrogate Chemistry TutorsHarrogate Maths TutorsHarrogate Physics TutorsBramhope Chemistry TutorsBramhope Maths TutorsBramhope Physics Tutors