Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Catherine

Catherine
Catherine
Tutor
Rochester, Kent
Home Town: Rochester
Member Since: 11/10/2014
Last Login: 4 months ago
Response Rate: 30%
Expected Response: < 18 hours

My Qualifications

BA
Canterbury Christ Church University
English
2:2  (2011)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Catherine
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Catherine

Hello :) My name is Catherine and I graduated from Canterbury Christ Church University in 2011 with a degree in English Literature. In 2021, I will have been working in education for 10 years. What a decade! In that time, I have been a private tutor, worked in a number of schools in a number of roles, become a parent myself and have hopefully kept business as usual for the children in my ‘bubble’ during the pandemic.
One of my favourite things is BOOKS! I absolutely love them - there is so much to be devoured from books and I’m thrilled that my 5 year old has inherited my passion! A good book is the perfect way to escape from the real world for a little while and I love nothing more than a weekend morning curled up in bed with a book and cup of tea.

I have several years of tutoring experience in English although I have had a 5 year breaking whilst continuing to work and adjust to motherhood! I have a vast background in education, having worked in primary, secondary and Special Educational Needs settings across Kent and Medway. My special area of knowledge is English, and also Special Educational Needs, Social and Emotional Mental Health and Additional Educational Needs.
I am currently a Higher Level Teaching Assistant (HLTA) in a primary school, covering lessons including PE, English, RE, Guided Reading, History, Geography and Art, whilst teachers take their PPA. Prior to this I worked as a Cover Supervisor in a SEN school; these students may have had a diagnosis of ASC, ADHD or other additional educational needs. I have also worked 1:1 with students who demonstrated behaviour that challenged; handling sensitive information, planning, developing and implementing support strategies, monitoring the results of these and adjusting where need be.

I have been in the role of Interventions Tutor in a primary school, teaching typing to students with dyslexia, running English booster sessions for year 6 and supporting small groups of students in their work. I was also a Curriculum Support Manager at a girls secondary school which involved working either 1:1 with a student or in small groups. These students accessed Curriculum Support for a number of reasons; poor health, pregnancy/recently given birth, Social and Emotional Mental Health, demonstrating behaviours which were impacting negatively on themselves and their peers or simply because they required additional academic support.
I also spent the first three years of my career working in SEN school in Tunbridge Wells where students had a diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Condition, and other conditions which impeded on their ability to communicate and interact.

Having worked with and got to know a variety of students in various settings, I have come to realise there is not one set way for us to learn; every child is different and unique. So I am always interested to hear individuals thoughts on ways they think they learn best. Some students like a break halfway through a session, others prefer to work straight through. Some students thrive when they write an A4 side, others prefer to draw a mind map, some are visual or kinaesthetic learners. There is no right or wrong way - as long as you`re progressing, it doesn`t matter how!

One thing I do believe is essential during tutoring sessions - tea and biscuits! And fun!

Availability: I am currently available to tutor on Thursdays and Fridays in the day.

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Catherine
Catherine

Nearby Locations

ChathamDittonLeybourneRochesterStroodWainscottWaldersladeChatham English TutorsDitton English TutorsLeybourne English TutorsRochester English TutorsStrood English TutorsWainscott English TutorsWalderslade English Tutors