Tutor HuntSubjects

Harry

Not available to contact
Harry
Harry
Tutor
London, London
Home Town: London
Member Since: 06/03/2023
Last Login: 53 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 18 hours
Not available to contact

My Qualifications

BA
Oxford University
Theology
2:1  (2010)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Harry
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Harry

After studying A levels in history, politics, philosohy and physics, Harry graduated from Oxford University with a degree in theology in 2009. He then studied as a professional jazz musician at Trinity College of Music, graduating with a master`s in music in 2012. It was as a saxophone teacher that Harry began his journey as a tutor, quickly moving into a career tutoring the humanities, maths, and school entrance exams six days a week. In order to consolidate and augment his teaching skills, Harry took a PGCE while teaching religious studies at two schools in south west London: Richmond Park Academy, and St John Bosco College. During this year, Harry had formal training for work with SEN students. After this year working in the classroom, Harry returned to tutoring full time, while continuing to enjoy life as a jazz saxophone player in his spare time. Harry has tutored hundreds of students studying for examinations in history, politics, religious studies, philosophy, maths, and English, of many different ages and backgrounds, from 10 year olds working towards the 11 plus exam, to GCSE and A level students, to Oxbridge entry for PPE, theology, history, and philosophy, to students retaking A levels after leaving school, and adult learners working on university dissertations. Harry works with 16 to 18 year olds more than any other age group, and is particularly experienced in helping students make the great leap from GCSE level short question writing to rigourous university level essay writing. Harry also has extensive, daily experience homeschooling students of myriad backgrounds over the previous ten years. Harry most enjoys drawing out the connections between the subjects he teaches, helping students move towards a broad literacy and passion for intellectual discovery that undergirds a life long love of learning, far beyond the mere prologue that is formal schooling.

Willing to travel: 2 miles

Experience: I have tutored for eleven years, full time for eight years. I am qualified teacher (I took one year out to do a PGCE, but tutored after school and on weekends).

DBS Check: Yes

Not available to contact

Nearby Locations

Barnes BridgeMortlakeBarnes Bridge English TutorsMortlake English Tutors