Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Helen (Tutor in Liverpool)

Helen
Helen
Tutor
Liverpool, Merseyside
Home Town: Liverpool
Member Since: 09/11/2018
Last Login: 2 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 3 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

CELTA
Liverpool Internationa...
CELTA
PASS  (2012)
BA
Liverpool John Moores University (L...
English
2:1  (2011)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
We have verified this users DBS
How references rated Helen
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
Efl£20.00£20.00£20.00£20.00£20.00£20.00
English£20.00£20.00£20.00£20.00£20.00£20.00
Tefl£20.00£20.00£20.00£20.00£20.00£20.00
Information about Helen

I have a 2:1 degree in English and I am now doing an MA in Writing at LJMU in Liverpool. I have been working as an English as a Foreign Language teacher for 6.5 years. I have taught in Greece, Spain and for 3 years in the UK at a language academy in Liverpool City Centre, where I was Senior Teacher and the Digital Learning and Special Educational Needs lead. I left my role very recently as I wanted a more flexible approach to my working life, which would also allow me to spend more time working on my MA. I would also really like to tutor as I want to spend more time 1:1 with students as it gives the opportunity to truly plan for their needs. I have taught students 1:1 or 1:2 many times before, especially in my most recent position and I have always found it to be a very gratifying experience.

My main interests outside of academia focus on reading and writing as I do both for pleasure. I am generally always to be found with a book in my hand. I also write stories, poems and I am working on a novel at present. I enjoy cooking, baking and working on my home. My husband and I socialise a lot with our family and friends, we also really enjoy long walks, days out together and cycle rides.

Availability: Monday: 11:00am - 7:00pm

Tuesday: 9:30am - 2:00pm

Wednesday: 9:30am - 7:00pm

Thursday: 9:30am - 7:00pm

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I am a really passionate teacher and I think it’s very important to develop a strong rapport with students. We learn best when we are enjoying ourselves and when we feel comfortable with our teachers. I understand this so I make an effort to get to know you. This also allows me to plan lessons that I know you will like and lets me personalise your sessions. I target the strengthening of your weaker areas and the maintenance of your strengths. If you decide to choose me as your tutor, I will ask you to complete a Needs Analysis before our first lesson. This means that we can get straight into helping you achieve your aims from the very first class. I will also help you to set goals for yourself and we will work together each lesson to reach them.

English has been one of the great loves of my life for as long as I can remember. It was my favourite subject at school and as I loved it so much I continued my relationship with it when I did my A-Levels and then I decided to pursue it at degree level. I now have a 2:1 Bachelors in English and I am doing a Master’s in Writing. I did a Cambridge CELTA in 2012 and became a qualified English Language teacher. I have taught in Greece and Spain for 3 years before returning home in 2015. Until I started my Master’s, taught at a language school in Liverpool for a further 3 years. My most recent position was that of Senior Teacher, which included responsibility for Special Educational Needs provision across all classes at the school. I’m lucky to have taught people as young as 8 and as wise as 78 and from very low level to very high level – there is no challenge too great or too small. In addition, I am experienced with working with students who have special educational needs and as a result I can support you if you have dyslexia or just find learning very hard. I will help you build the study skills you need to progress and feel really good about yourself.

I have volunteered in British schools so I am aware of the demands of the mainstream curriculum - there is a strong emphasis on grammatical and phonological awareness at the moment within literacy practices in schools. The skills I have developed during my career allow me to help you to develop your own literacy strengths and support you through your education so that it is the fulfilling, fun and motivating experience that you deserve.

My qualifications and lengthy experience across all ages and levels has given me a very, very strong teaching skill set. I am able to tutor you through anything you need. I can prepare you for SATS, GCSE, A-Level, degree, IELTS, KEY, PET, FCE, CAE and TOEFL. I can also help you with your skills such as speaking, reading, writing (including academic writing) and/or listening. Maybe you want to improve your understanding of grammar or increayour vocabulary, if so that’s great too.

If you’re looking for a highly experienced, motivated, dedicated and enthusiastic tutor, I`m the one for you!


DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor
More Photos (1)

 This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .


Nearby Locations

DingleDingle English Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.266 seconds
twitter    facebook