Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Irini

Irini
Irini
Tutor
Barbican, London
Home Town: Barbican
Member Since: 11/10/2020
Last Login: 32 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 24 minutes

My Qualifications

ACA
BPP University
ICAEW
80%, First time pass  (2019)
BSc
The University of Nottingham
Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine
1st  (2016)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Irini
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Irini

- Highly experienced and engaging tutor -

I am a graduate medical student studying at Barts and the London, having previously worked in finance for four years.
I tutor students in the following core subjects:
- Biology & Chemistry: Primary - A level
- Physics: Primary - GCSE
- Biochemistry: Degree level

Having applied for medical school three times, each time receiving an offer, I am able to support with UCAT preparation (av. score 750), reviewing personal statements and interview preparation for Medicine/Dentistry.

I plan sessions thoroughly, ensuring that they are as interactive and engaging as possible. I run through key concepts with each student and then provide materials they are able to review at a later date, especially when revising for exams.

Having tutored for many years, I have built up a number of teaching tools, acknowledging that all students learn in different ways.

I base my teaching around past paper questions and help students to develop a sound exam technique which is applicable to other subjects too. I am patient and a strong communicator, giving students the time to think through questions themselves and develop their ability to problem solve.

My own academic record is very strong, having graduated top of my class in Biochemistry and the University of Nottingham, and averaging 80% in the ACA (Chartered Accountant qualification). I achieve these marks through efficient revision and a focus on deeply understanding key topics rather than focussing on rote learning. These principles I pass onto my students.

I also have an enhanced DBS check pending and plenty of wider experience working with children and young adults through my medicine career.

Availability: Available during the daytime and evenings in the week and on weekends.

All classes will be taught online, though for an additional fee I am able to travel within Zone 1.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I have tutored for the last eight years across Maths and the Sciences, to students varying in age from 11-18. I retained my students throughout my finance career as I love the role and enjoy watching the students improve.

My most longstanding pupil I tutored since she was 13 until aged 18, helping her with Science. Within the first year she had moved from Set 4 to Set 1 (the highest achieving group) and went on to achieve A*s in both GCSE and A Level.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Irini
irini

Nearby Locations

BarbicanBlackfriarsFarringdonIslingtonMansion HouseSt PaulsBarbican Biology TutorsBarbican Chemistry TutorsBarbican Maths TutorsBarbican Physics TutorsBlackfriars Biology TutorsBlackfriars Chemistry TutorsBlackfriars Maths TutorsBlackfriars Physics TutorsFarringdon Biology TutorsFarringdon Chemistry TutorsFarringdon Maths TutorsFarringdon Physics TutorsIslington Biology TutorsIslington Chemistry TutorsIslington Maths Tutors