Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Ali (Tutor in Southsea)

Ali
Ali
Tutor
Southsea, Hampshire
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 03/12/2019
Last Login: 1 day ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

My Qualifications

Other
NCFE
CACHE Level 3 Award in Supporting I...
Pass  (2019)
PGCE
University of Portsmouth
Secondary Mathematics
Passed 1st, 2 phases  (2017)
Other
University of Portsmouth
Awarded Graduate Certificate in Sec...
Pass  (2017)
Other
University of Chichester
Skills Knowledge Enhancement - SKE...
Pass  (2016)
Degree
University of Portsmouth
BA ( Hons) Education and Training
2:1  (2015)
Degree
University of Portsmouth
Foundation Degree in Learning Suppo...
Merit  (2013)
A Level
Highbury College
Maths - Pure and Statistics
C  (1984)
A Level
Highbury College
Computer Science
C  (1984)
A Level
Highbury College
Economics
B  (1984)
O Level
Cams Hill School
Mathematics
A  (1982)
O Level
Cams Hill School
English Literature
A  (1982)
O Level
Cams Hill School
English Language
B  (1982)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Ali
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Ali

I have been private tutoring in Maths, English and Functional Skills (Maths) for over a year now. I receive very positive feedback from parents and tutees, saying that my tutoring has improved confidence, resulting in good progress made.

I am very patient and will always find alternative ways to explain concepts to support understanding and learning. I am extremely enthusiastic about teaching and learning and love to share my knowledge with others to help them achieve their specific targets. I have a good sense of humour and am able to quickly build a good rapport with learners.

Availability: Due to schools closing and exams cancelled, I now have more availability for online tuition only.

(I did have 11 students; I homeschooled a KS3 pupil in English and Maths, Monday to Friday mornings; other tutees included : a pupil after school every Monday in preparation for his Higher Maths GCSE exams in May/June; a year 2 and a year 6 pupil in Maths and English after school/early evening on a Tuesday; a year 11 pupil in Maths and English; a pupil in Year 10 after school every Wednesday in English and Maths and a college student retaking his Maths GCSE).

I currently have 7 online students from 5 to 16 years of age.

I am flexible and will try to accommodate your preferred times around my other commitments.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I have a Foundation Degree in Learning Support, a Degree in Education and Training and a Graduate Certificate in Secondary Education. I worked as a Maths and English Intervention Specialist for 5 years in primary education, which included preparing pupils for their SATS in Year 6 and after-school group and 1:1 tuition. In addition, I was employed as a Teaching Assistant within the SEND team for 2 years in secondary education, supporting primarily in Mathematics along with the rest of the curriculum . I have taught Maths in several secondary schools and provided classroom support for Adult Education Functional Skills Maths. I did have 11 face to face tutees - both English and Maths. I have tutored students with ages ranging from 5 years to 73.

My specialism is Maths, having completed and passed 2 out of 3 phases of a teacher training (PGCE) in Secondary Mathematics in 2017. I had secured a teaching post in a Portsmouth secondary school, commencing September 2017 but decided that full-time teaching within a school was not a desired option. I am also experienced and skilled in supporting the learning of Literacy and English Language.

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Ali (1)

We have a total of 1 review(s) for Ali.

Zoe (Mrs)
30/03/2020

5/5 Rating

Ali is brilliant . Really patient with my son who has some additional needs (has a sensory disorder , mild aspergers and previous serious illness ). He works well with her (and he is very fussy about most teachers ). She is positive and encouraging, which is just what he needs after a very difficult time at school . Thanks Ali !

Tutors Response :

Thank you so much, Zoe.
Lovely words. I love working with Will.
I really appreciate you taking the time to give this feedback.
Take care. Hope your week is a calm and safe one.
Ali 🌻;;🦋;;🙂;;🌈;;


Nearby Locations

BembridgeGosportPortsmouthSandownSeaviewSouthseaGosport English TutorsGosport Maths TutorsPortsmouth English TutorsPortsmouth Maths TutorsSouthsea English TutorsSouthsea Maths TutorsBembridge English TutorsBembridge Maths TutorsSandown English TutorsSandown Maths TutorsSeaview English TutorsSeaview Maths Tutors