Tutor HuntSubjectsHistory Tutors

Calum

Calum
Calum
Tutor
Lymm, Cheshire
Home Town: Lymm
Member Since: 16/02/2021
Last Login: 47 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 56 minutes

My Qualifications

MA
The University of Salford
Journalism (Sport)
Distinction  (2020)
BA
Durham University
History and French
First-class  (2019)
A Level
Altrincham Grammar School for Boys
Maths
A  (2015)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Calum
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Calum

My name is Calum and I`m a recent graduate with experience in tutoring and teaching in the UK and France. I have an up-to-date DBS certificate. I live in Lymm and am flexibly available to tutor online and, when Covid regulations allow, around Lymm and the surrounding area. I am particularly passionate about history and languages. In my sessions, I try to draw links between different topics and across subjects in order to give my students a broader understanding of the themes at hand, and their applicability in real-world situations. Learning to pass an exam is important, but it does not equip students with the deeper comprehension that is so important in professional and academic settings.

Availability: I am studying a part-time MA in Translation and Interpreting, and my hours therefore vary each week. In general, however, I am free every afternoon and evening, as well as weekends.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: I have wide-ranging academic and teaching experience. I hold a first-class BA in History and French from the University of Durham (2015-2019), and an MA in Journalism from the University of Salford (Distinction, 2019-20). I am currently studying an MA in Translation and Interpreting at the University of Manchester (2020-22). I have A-levels in Maths (A), French (A*), and History (A*) as well as 12A*s and 3As at GCSE.

I have tutored Maths and English for Year 6 SATS exams and spent a year living and working in France as an English language assistant, teaching English to French students aged 15-21 and tutoring teenagers and adults outside of school.

I have also taught swimming to children and adults aged 3+, and draw on this experience considerably when tutoring more academic subjects. Many of the skills applicable to teaching swimming - preparation, organisation, effective communication, among others - are equally important to teaching school subjects.

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Calum
Calum

Nearby Locations

CadisheadCulchethIrlamLymmNorthwichPartingtonRisleyCulcheth French TutorsCulcheth History TutorsCulcheth Maths TutorsLymm French TutorsLymm History TutorsLymm Maths TutorsNorthwich French TutorsNorthwich History TutorsNorthwich Maths TutorsRisley French TutorsRisley History TutorsRisley Maths TutorsCadishead Maths TutorsIrlam French TutorsIrlam History Tutors