Tutor HuntQuestions

Tutor Hunt Questions

how many minimum meiotic cell divisions are require to produce 600 wheat seeds?
7 years ago

Biology Question asked by Surendar

Know the Answer?

Please enter your response to the question below. The student will get a notification as soon your response has been approved by our moderation team.

Submit Answer

3 Answers

150. Each diploid cell in gonadas (sex organs - in human ovaries and testes) divides twice to produce 4 haploid cells during meiosis.
Answered by [Deleted Member]
+ 1    Rate Up  Rate Down     

150 divisions. Meiosis produces a total of 4 cells from 1 original cell by using 2 division stages. 2 cells are produced and then another 2 are produced, producing a total of 4 per division. So you divide 600 by 4 and get 150.
Answered by [Deleted Member]
- 1    Rate Up  Rate Down     

750. Meiotic divisions are responsible for gamete formation. For wheat or any other flowering plant it is necessary to have a pollen ( 4 after one meiotic division) and an egg cell ( usually one after one meiotic division) to produce a single seed. To produce a single wheat grain there should be 100 meiotic divisions to produce hundred egg cells. And 25 divisions to produce 100 pollen grains. So total 750 meiotic divisions are required to produce 100 wheat grains.
Answered by [Deleted Member]
- 2    Rate Up  Rate Down