Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Samantha (Tutor in Chesterfield)

Samantha
Samantha
Tutor
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Home Town: Chesterfield
Member Since: 16/01/2012
Last Login: 6 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data

Qualifications

BA Education and Teaching
BA English
BTEC Teaching Assistant
NVQ 3 Child Care and Education
NVQ 4 Learning Disability
A Levels in English, Geography, History
GCSEs x 10 grades A-C

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 12.00 to 25.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Child Development----£25
English£12£15£18£20£20
Geography£12£15£18--
History£12£15£18--
Maths£12----

Information about Samantha

My name is Sam, and I am a qualified and experienced tutor living between Chesterfield and Mansfield- within easy reach of the M1, J29.

I trained as a teacher at Sheffield Hallam University, and previously studied English and History at the University of Derby. I hope to become an NVQ assessor in the future, and also set up a full tuition company of my own in Chesterfield and Mansfield schools, helping local children with homework and educational skills in an informal but rich environment.

In the past I have also worked as a teaching assistant in Primary, Secondary and Special schools and have strong knowledge of the National Curriculum and the Early Years Foundation Stage that your children will be working with at school.

SUPPORTING CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL EDUCATIONAL NEEDS:

I am 27 years old, married and work part time as a private nanny between 2 families. Both families have 3 children between the ages of 3 and ten, and each family has a least one child with moderate special educational needs.

Much of my experience is in supporting children and adults with Special Needs- including Autism, Down`s syndrome, behavioural difficulties and Global Delay. I have lots of experience working with children with a range of abilities in school, nursery and private settings, and have an NVQ (L4) in supporting people with learning disabilities.

If you need support with your child who has a learning disability or special educational need in an educational capacity, I am happy to support the learning of basic and educational skills. I have good experience working alongside speech therapists, SENCOs, physios and educational psychologists and will always use their plans and advice (if aplicable) when planning lessons for your children.

UP TO A LEVEL MATHEMATICS
I can support Maths throughout Primary level, and up to lower secondary school ages. My husband, Gary is a Mathematics teacher at Belper Secondary School, and can teach up to A Level. His availability varies, please do contact us to discuss this if higher Maths tuition is something you are interested in.

HOMESCHOOLING?
I am happy to support your homeschooling routine. Please contact me for details.

Availability: Any- Contact me to discuss requirments. Inclding evenings, weekends, day time, school holidays.

I can also work a home-schooling agreement with you.

History
Up to 11 years (primary) (12 p.h.)
11+ (secondary) (15 p.h.)
GCSE or Standards (18 p.h.)

Reading & Writing skills
Up to 11 years (primary) (12 p.h.)
11+ (secondary) (15 p.h.)

Special Needs
Up to 11 years (primary) (12 p.h.)
11+ (secondary) (15 p.h.)
GCSE or Standards (18 p.h.)
A-Level or Highers (20 p.h.)
Further/Higher (university) (25 p.h.)
Adult/Casual learner (25 p.h.)

English (Foreign Language)
Up to 11 years (primary) (10 p.h.)
11+ (secondary) (10 p.h.)
GCSE or Standards (10 p.h.)
A-Level or Highers (15 p.h.)
Further/Higher (university) (20 p.h.)
Adult/Casual learner (20 p.h.)

Maths
Up to 11 years (primary) (12 p.h.)

English
Up to 11 years (primary) (12 p.h.)
11+ (secondary) (15 p.h.)
GCSE or Standards (18 p.h.)
A-Level or Highers (20 p.h.)

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: In addition to full class teaching in primary schools as part of my teaching degree, I also worked with small groups and on a one-to-one basis as a teaching assistant and Special Ed Teacher.

I have used a variety of catch up programmes in Maths and English.

I also advertised myself locally in private ads, and have the following tutition experience under my belt:

PREVIOUS (2010-2011)
Boy, 8, 2 hours/fortnight, Literacy and Numeracy (Walton, Chesterfield)

Boy, 7, 1 hour/week, handwriting support, reading support (Tutor`s Home)

Boy, 11, 1.5 hours/ week, `Extra` Maths and English (not challenged enough at school) (Glapwell, Chesterfield)

Girl, 9-10, 1.5 hours/ week, Catch up Maths and English, Year 6 S.A.Ts (Glapwell, Chesterfield)

Boy, 6-7, 1 hour/ week, English as a Foreign Language (Rotherham, nr Sheffield)

Girl, 5, 1 hour/ week, Reading and Numeracy work (Tutor`s Home)

Adult, 1 hour / week, Geography A Level (MSN remote tuition)

CURRENT
Girl, 14, 2 hours/ fortnight, English (Tutor`s Home)

Adult, 2 hours/ fortnight, A Level Englsih, (Tutor`s Home)

Boy, 5 4 hours/ week, SEN support, initial reading, counting etc. (Brampton, Chesterfield)

Tutoring Approach:
Before I begin tutoring, I arrange to meet the parents and tutee to discuss the requirements and aims you wish to gain from tutoring. This is a no obligation session. We will also discuss frequency of tuition and any costs.

If you decide to employ me as a tutor, I will take the first session as an assessment of the child or tutee`s progress in relation to the outcomes required. From here I can plan interesting and active sessions using genuine teaching resources. With your permission, I will also email your child`s school to gain an idea of what they would like to him/her to achieve. I believe that a strong parent/tutor/school relationship is important for the success of the children.

BUILT IN CLASSROOM
My home houses an operational classroom filled with working resources used by schools, and extra resouces to support special needs as required.

ONLINE SUPPORT
I can support by MSN, Email or Skype giving virtual teaching to the same standard but remotely. This method gives you a ten percent discount on the price. All resources will be emailed to you with full instruction. Simply email back for me to assess. The joy of email tuition means that it can be done at ANY time to suit you! Can compliment or be used instead of traditional face to face tuition. Using Skype, Msn and Email means I can tutor from anywhere.

TUTORING AT YOUR HOME
I am very happy to arrange tuition at your own home, where I will bring appropriate resources. Please note, I would like to discuss contributions to travel costs in this instance as I am currently a none driver. Thank you. I am able to travel to Chesterfield and Mansfield using the Pronto bus service.

SMALL GROUPS
I am happy to tutor groups of up to three children/ tutees at any one time where the tutees are working towards a similar or the same subject. I will give a 20% dicount to each tutee should I gain two or three tutees.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

AlfretonBolsoverChesterfieldClay CrossClowneCreswellNorth WingfieldShirebrookShirlandSouth NormantonTibshelfWingerworthAlfreton English TutorsAlfreton Geography TutorsAlfreton History TutorsAlfreton Maths TutorsBolsover English TutorsBolsover Geography TutorsBolsover History TutorsBolsover Maths TutorsChesterfield English TutorsChesterfield Geography TutorsChesterfield History TutorsChesterfield Maths TutorsClay Cross English TutorsClay Cross Geography TutorsClay Cross History Tutors