Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Emma

Emma
Emma
Tutor
London
Home Town:
Member Since: 13/03/2012
Last Login: 2 years ago
Response Rate: 40%
Expected Response: < 16 days

My Qualifications

PGCE
King`s College London (University of London)
Secondary English
2.1  (2013)
BA
Oxford University
English Language and Literature
2.1  (2011)
A Level
Chichester High Schools Sixth Form
English Literature
A  (2007)
A Level
Chichester High Schools Sixth Form
Music
A  (2007)
A Level
Chichester High Schools Sixth Form
Latin
A  (2007)
AS LEVEL
Chichester High School Sixth Form
History
A  (2007)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Emma
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Emma

I taught for four years in schools in East London. My GCSE pass rate in English and Media Studies for A* - C is 100%.

I attended Chichester High School for Girls before earning my degree in English Language and Literature from Oxford University. I did a PGCE English course at King`s College London (the top provider in London according to The Good Teacher Training Guide 2011).

My teaching style focuses entirely on the student and what I think will most benefit them as an individual. I understand the importance of independent thought and, where relevant, aim to provide the student with versatile skills which are applicable to their studies more generally.

I enjoy one-to-one tutoring and view it as invaluable in improving my teaching skills. I make the utmost effort to do my best by my pupils. My experience of the tutorial system at Oxford has given me insight into how best a one-to-one system can be used and adapted.

I specialise English Literature, English Language and Music, at any level up to and including A-Level and degree-level. At lower academic levels I am able to offer a wider range of subjects and instruments.

At university I maintained a keen interest in admissions and last September attended a teacher`s conference at Oxford University on helping students with their applications. I therefore have a thorough and current knowledge of the procedure and can offer help and advice with personal statements, interview preparation and interview technique.

Teaching is something I enjoy and I feel this can make all the difference, particularly when it comes to private tuition. It is always a privilege to help someone achieve their best.

Please do get in touch with any questions you may have.

Availability: Weekday evenings

Willing to travel: 8 miles

Experience: 4 years experience as a classroom teacher in East London.

Classroom Assistant at Warblington High School observing and participating in lessons: mostly English, also Maths, Music and PSHE. (65 hours)

Reading assistant and organiser of Storytime at [contact detail removed]. Also helped with the implementation of Reading Schemes for children aged 7-16. (100+ hours)

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Emma
Emma

Nearby Locations

DalstonDalston JunctionDalston KingslandHaggerstonLondon FieldsDalston English TutorsDalston Junction English TutorsDalston Kingsland English TutorsHaggerston English TutorsHaggerston Music TutorsLondon Fields English TutorsLondon Fields Music Tutors