Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Dominic (Tutor in West Midlands)

Dominic
Dominic
Tutor
West Midlands
Home Town:
Member Since: 09/09/2011
Last Login: 7 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

Classics BA, UCL, 2:1 (1st year average 68 2nd 62 3rd 71)

A Levels:
Ancient Greek- A
Latin- A
General Studies- A
English Literature- B (result unsuccessfully appealed against)

AS:
Geography- A

GCSE:
English Literature- A (Top Candidate Award) English Language- A
Geography- A Dual Science Award- AA Ancient Greek- A
Latin- A French- A History- A Mathematics- A

ABRSM:
Grade 7 Singing- Merit
Grade 5 Musical Theory- Merit
Grade 4 Piano- Merit

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: £12.00 to £15.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult Learner
English£12.00£12.00£15.00£15.00-£12.00
Greek--£15.00£15.00£15.00£12.00
Latin--£15.00£15.00£12.00£12.00
Information about Dominic

I`m a Classics graduate with a passion for World Literature, from Nigerian playwrights and novelists like Wole Soyinka, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Chinua Achebe to Scandinavian and Icelandic writers such as Halldór Laxness and Ibsen. English literature is close to my heart too, starting with a (morbid) interest in early Gothic works by the likes of Matthew Lewis, J. S. Le Fanu and Robert Louis Stevenson I later developed an appreciation for Modernist (Forster, Joyce, Eliot, Pound) and Postmodern writers, such as Graham Greene, Anthony Burgess, David Lodge and Zadie Smith.
My knowledge of Latin and Ancient Greek means that I can often help to supplement a student`s knowledge of a text by explaining references to Greek and Roman mythology, literature and history.
I love to teach, and have done so, formally and informally, for about 4 years. Good writing should be challenging and enjoyable, and I believe I can help students to appreciate both aspects of literature.

Availability: 9am-7pm Saturday-Sunday
6-10pm Monday-Friday
(My time is potentially more flexible, and I am willing to negotiate!)

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Experience: January-May, 2008: I taught English Literature and Language, Drama and PE in an international school (Kolej Tuanku Ja`afar) in Mantin, Malaysia. Pupils ages varied between 12-22 some spoke English as a second or third language (which led me to learn some basic Mandarin Chinese and Bahasa Melayu), others went on to study English Literature at Oxford, Cambridge and various Ivy League institutions.

My other teaching experience has been informal and unpaid it includes guitar tuition, sound engineering/music production lessons and 11+ preparation.

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

Barnt GreenBournvilleCotteridgeBarnt Green English TutorsBournville English TutorsCotteridge English Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.281 seconds
twitter    facebook