Tutor HuntSubjectsDutch Lessons

Topsy

Topsy
Topsy
Tutor
Stroud, Gloucestershire
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 09/10/2013
Last Login: 11 months ago
Response Rate: 80%
Expected Response: < 1 day

My Qualifications

MSc
Ghent University Belgium
Master of Sciences in Bioengineering
Distinction  (2001)

Information about Topsy

Hello! My name is Topsy, I am a Belgian national living in Stroud.

My native tongue is Dutch (Flemish), and I am fluent in English as well after living in the UK for over 13 years now. As Belgium has three national languages, I also speak French and just a little German.

I studied at the Ghent University in Belgium and at the University of Wageningen in The Netherlands, and I have a masters degree in science, bio-engineering and chemistry with a focus on food chemistry and -microbiology.
After my studies I worked at the university college in Ghent where I did scientific research and was thesis promoter for a number of international students (Belgian, Spanish and Greek).

I currently work part time at a garden design college and combine this with self employed tutoring.
Though science is my main field, I have also experience teaching Dutch to both beginners and advanced and am currently looking into starting up some form of a Dutch language school. I also teach French at beginners level to children. being a mother of two I enjoy working with children and try to make learning interactive and fun.

If I was to name one or two words that describe me best, it would probably be patient and creative. I believe that there is always more than one way to explain something, and it is all about finding the explanation that the pupil can relate to. I believe schools often overload pupils with details, and sometimes having someone to filter through things and point out the essence can be a great help.

Availability: Evenings and weekend.

I am happy to travel within a 10 mile radius of my home, at a charge of 45 pence per mile (HMRC standard mileage rate).

I occasionally do consider travelling further than 10 miles at an extra charge for added travel time. Please contact me to discuss.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: I have experience as a tutor with primary school children, secondary school pupils and adults.
Furthermore I have quite a lot of experience in working with children/adults with autism and Asperger syndrome.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Feedback For Topsy (1)

We have a total of 1 review(s) for Topsy.

Paul (Mr)
08/10/2014

5/5 Rating

I would highly recommend Topsy as a tutor. She was very good at putting my daughter at ease and explaining the subject in a way that was easy to understand. Topsy also took time to find out exactly what my daughters required areas of study were so that she could be well prepared ahead of tutorials


Nearby Locations

ChalfordCharfieldDursleyFrampton On SevernGloucesterGloucestershireHorsleyHuntleyNailsworthStandishStroudTetburyWhitminsterWotton Under EdgeChalford Chemistry TutorsChalford French TutorsChalford Maths TutorsChalford Physics TutorsCharfield Chemistry TutorsCharfield French TutorsCharfield Maths TutorsCharfield Physics TutorsDursley Chemistry TutorsDursley French TutorsDursley Maths TutorsDursley Physics TutorsFrampton On Severn Chemistry TutorsFrampton On Severn French TutorsFrampton On Severn Maths Tutors