Tutor HuntSubjects

Dave

Dave
Dave
Tutor
Hammarö, OutsideUK
Home Town: Hammarö
Member Since: 17/08/2020
Last Login: 11 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 9 days

My Qualifications

TEFL
The TEFL Academy
Level 5 Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of...
Distinction  (2019)
PGCE
The University of Huddersfield
PGCE (Further Education)
Pass  (1994)
MSc
University of Leeds
Office Automation and Information Systems
Pass  (1993)
PGCert
Leeds Metropolitan University
Computing and Commmunications Technology
Pass  (1989)
BSc
Coventry University
Physical Science
3rd  (1987)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Dave
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Dave

Hello. I`m Dave and was until recently a university lecturer at a university in northern England - I`m currently working on my PhD and teaching English to Swedish adults. I graduated with a degree in Physical Science and then studied a Postgraduate Diploma in Computing and Communications Technology and a Masters degree in Information Systems - during this period I became more interested in teaching and this led to studying for a Postgraduate Certificate in Further and Higher Education. I live in western Sweden now and so am only available for tutor sessions online (unless you live nearby!).

I am a live music promoter, musician and producer across a number of different styles and genres, including folk, post-punk, drone, noise and spoken word.

I was a Trades un ion activist and Branch Committee member for over 10 years and so have an active knowledge and interest in UK politics, especially in relation to work and Health and Safety.

I am interested in other languages and cultures and have some proficiency in Welsh, Swedish and to a lesser degree, Norwegian.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I have taught at university level for 26 years across levels 4-7 and for the past 15 years on a number of modules and courses related to Music Technology and Music Production. My main areas of specialism include -
Acoustics (including space/studio design);
Experimental Music (history, development, composition and performance of non-traditional music); Music, Politics and Society (music genre history and connection to/influence on society - 1950s to present);
Mass Media (the political, historical and sociological aspects of how society and mass media influence/conflict with each other).

I have supervised students at levels 6 and 7 for dissertation/thesis work and mentored students on Collaborative Practice type modules. I have been a Personal Tutor for over 15 years.

I have undertaken a number of experimental music, music practice and listening workshops in Prague, Trondheim, Århus and Vilnius.

I am a qualified TEFL teacher and have worked with students from ages 8-60 online and face-to-face over the past 13 years.

I have been a Trade un ion Officer and Health and Safety Representative for over a decade.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Dave
Dave