Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Emily (Tutor in Sheffield)

Emily
Emily
Tutor
Sheffield, Yorkshire
Home Town: Sheffield
Member Since: 28/08/2014
Last Login: 5 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

A Level
The Rochester Grammar School for Gi...
Biology
2012
A Level
The Rochester Grammar School for Gi...
Chemistry
2012
A Level
The Rochester Grammar School for Gi...
Maths
2012
A Level
The Rochester Grammar School for Gi...
Philosophy
2012

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 10.00 to 20.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-Level
Biology-£12.00£12.00£20.00
Chemistry-£12.00£12.00-
English£10.00---
Maths£10.00£12.00£12.00-
Medicine---£20.00
Information about Emily

Hello!

I am a current medical student at the University of Sheffield. Having completed three (out of five) years of the course I am now taking a year "out" to undertake an intercalated Masters degree in Clinical Neurology. This will help me to focus on my area of interest, Parkinson`s disease, whilst also allowing me to gain research experience in preparation for my future career. An added benefit is that it will mean I have a bit more free time which I would love to spend tutoring you/ your child!

My "specialist" subjects are:
- Biology (KS3, GCSE, A level)
- Chemistry (KS3, GCSE)
- Mathematics (KS3, GCSE)
- Physics (KS3, GCSE)

I also have experience in tutoring younger students (aged 7-12) in preparation for the KS2 SATs.

Additionally, as I have gone through the daunting medical school application process I would also be more than willing to help prospective students with interview preparation or admission test tutoring (UKCAT/ BMAT).

My approach to tutoring will be individualised to you/ your child depending on the particular needs/ circumstances. I will identify my students strengths and weaknesses and use this information to create a tutoring plan individually tailored to their needs.

I am willing to provide ongoing tutoring alongside a school/ college taught course to help the student assimilate what they learn in class and provide support on a one-on-one basis in the areas they are struggling with. I am also willing to provide more intensive studying in preparation for examinations focusing on solid revision techniques and exam preparation. In both cases, where appropriate, I will incorporate the use of examination past papers to give my students experience and confidence in exam situations.

I will always endeavor to produce enjoyable and engaging lessons for my students so that they are encouraged and excited to learn.

Ultimately, I aim to share my passion for learning (and particularly sciences) with others, and in doing so encourage them to discover their own abilities and achieve their ambitions.

Availability: - Weekdays 6pm-8pm
- Weekends 10am-6pm

I have a car and am able to travel to you. Anything up to 5 miles is free, ten miles has an additional charge of 2 per session to help contribute to petrol. I am currently unable to travel further than 10 miles. I am not currently able to offer tutoring at my home.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: Whilst at my secondary school I took part in a "Buddy Mentor" scheme helping younger students with Maths and Science on a one-on-one basis. During my final year I was also elected as Chemistry Rep and as part of this role I ran lunchtime group revision sessions for GCSE Chemistry and Biology. I have since re-visited my old school to talk to prospective medical students.

Additionally, outside of school I volunteered at a local "Playing for Success" programme, a tutoring scheme aimed at helping underacheiving young children, often with learning or behavioural difficulties in Maths and English. Below is the reference my learning manager gave me when I left in 2011:
"The Playing for Success programmme involved low-ability children, aged between 7-12years, coming to take part in an extra-curricular learning programme to help boost their self-esteem and help them make progress. Emily volunteered as a Mentor to these children. She was a dedicated, hard working and reliable member of the team who supported the children with their learning and provided them with encouragement and guidance. Emily was enthusiastic and always did whatever was required of her. Emily was bright and used her initiative, she was caring and approachable towards the children and I enjoyed having her work with us."

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

SheffieldSheffield Biology TutorsSheffield Chemistry TutorsSheffield English TutorsSheffield Maths Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.250 seconds
twitter    facebook