Tutor HuntSubjectsPiano Lessons

Michael

Michael
Michael
Tutor
Ilford, Essex
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 29/12/2019
Last Login: 5 days ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

My Qualifications

BA
Anglia Ruskin University
Popular Music
2:1  (2018)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
 Enhanced DBS Verified
How references rated Michael
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Teacher
Piano£35

Related Links: Piano Lessons

Information about Michael

A full time professional piano teacher, currently teaching around 45 students a week, of age ranges 6-45.

I am able to enter you for formal grades, but can also teach improvisation for jazz, and contemporary pop styles.

Generally I encourage all my students to read music, however I believe the best musicians are able to not only just read the notes, but able to also play creatively. These tools will be taught in the lessons.


What to expect from your lessons?

Learning to read music is a little bit like learning how to read a new language! It can be described as pattern recognition. It may seem daunting but I can promise you that with my step by step approach you will not feel overwhelmed. I believe that the learning process should never be stressful.

Learning to improvise is a slightly different approach. It works by using music theory, shapes, and again has patterns involved. It can be a very rewarding experience for the student to be able to express themselves freely within the first lesson, using hand shape 1 & 2 from the scale, (all of this will be explained in detail).

Whether you are an adult looking for that extra spice in your life, or your children are keen to learn, I believe there is a lot of character development involved in learning to play the piano. Confidence, sense of achievement, the ability to overcome obstacles, just to name a few.

Please get in touch.

Links to hear me play:

[contact detail removed]

Availability: Monday
09:35am -13:30 Flexible. Weekly slot.

Wednesday
09:30-10:15. Fortnightly slot.
10:20-12:40 flexible. Weekly slot.

Thursday
16:00-30. Weekly slot.

Sunday
13:30 -14:00 Fortnightly Slot.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: 3 years full time 1-1 piano tuition experience. I have worked with children as Young as 4, all the way to full grown adults.

I welcome all levels, beginner to advanced. My strengths lye in Jazz / Soul/ Pop Piano performance, conpostion and improvisation.

However, for most young learners, I work through the Grades with the various exam boards:

ABRSM, RSL, MTB,

The creative work is introduced slowly for children, and teenagers.

For adults, the creative style can be taught much earlier , within your first lesson.

23 years playing experience. 12 years experience as a professional musician, performing in various scenarios, Glastonbury Festival, BBC Live Lounge, Restaurants, Weddings, Jazz Bars.

BA Honours in Popular Music (Anglia Ruskin University).

DBS Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .

Feedback For Michael (1)

We have a total of 1 review(s) for Michael.

Mila (Mrs)
28/03/2020

5/5 Rating

just excellent in every way


Nearby Locations

ClayhallClayhall Piano Tutors