Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Maxine

Maxine has disabled his/her profile. You can not contact this Tutor at this time.

Maxine
Maxine
Tutor
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Home Town: Stevenage
Member Since: 21/07/2013
Last Login: 3 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data

Qualifications

2 years completed: BA (Hons) Primary Education with QTS - starting final year sept 2013.

A Levels in Art, Critical Thinking, Physical Education and Psychology.

GCSEs A -C in English Language/Literature, Maths, Science double award, Art double award, Food Technology, Geography, History and Physical Education.

Rates summary: £15.00 to £20.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Art£15£15£18£18£15
Biology£15£15£18-£15
Eleven Plus£15----
English£20£15£18-£15
General Science£15£15£18-£15
Geography£15£15£15--
History£15£15---
Maths£20£15£18-£15
Physical Education£15£15£18£18£15
Psychology---£18-
Religious Studies£15£15---
Special Needs£15£15---

Information about Maxine

Having been inspired by a particular Primary School Teacher I wanted to take up Primary teaching from a young age and my enthusiasm for this increased over the years. I am therefore currently studying Primary School Teaching at Middlesex University and have recently completed my second school placement. During my first school placement I was able to deliver 40% of the teaching for a reception class for 7 weeks and the knowledge I gained of the EYFS and the confidence I have built from this gives me even more enthusiasm to improve teaching and learning for children. My second school placement gave me the opportunity to work with children who are aged 7 and 8 years. This school based training required me to lead and plan for 70% of the teaching for a year 3 class and I feel I have further knowledge and skills of teaching and learning to bring to private tutoring.
Having completed my second year at University with success I am equipped with the knowledge to tutor children for many aspects of the Curriculum. I have a vast knowledge of what is expected in schools and of the changes proposed for the Curriculum for September 2014. I am very up to date with many types of maths intervention as the past term at university we have been looking very closely at interventions such as Every Child Counts, Max’s Marvellous Maths, Overcoming Barriers – National Strategy, Springboard, Numicon and Catch up Numeracy. My up to date knowledge of these interventions would be extremely beneficial in supporting a child who needs extra tuition in Mathematics. I have also looked very closely at methods for teaching English and assessing English which improves my knowledge of strategies for tutoring. My degree at University covers all the subjects expected of the Primary National Curriculum and I would be willing to tutor in most areas.
Over the past year I have been supporting a 9 year old child with Mathematics and reading. Her end of year report has shown great achievement and progress in both of these areas. She has achieved a higher level in terms of effort and attainment in areas for which I have supported her.
Previously I have worked as a Teaching Assistant in a Secondary School, an experience which finalised my decision to enter the demanding yet extremely rewarding world of teaching. Gaining experience of learning from a different perspective and understanding the varied ways teachers inspire and motivate children was a pleasure. I thoroughly enjoy bringing these attributes to support others with their learning. I love helping and supporting children as well as adults, and feel an enthusiastic role model can make a great difference to many young lives, something I hope to accomplish in every part of working with children.
I have achieved A-levels in Art, Physical Education, Psychology and Critical Thinking. I deeply enjoy these subjects as I am a creative yet intellectual and practical person. The variety of my A-levels and GCSEs contribute greatly to tutoring so I can inspire children to be creative through my own creativity and I am an active, lively person who can bring enjoyment to learning.
In my free time, I like to see friends and enjoy time with my family. I had the benefit of being part of Stevenage Swimming Club since a young age and enjoyed the training sessions alongside encouraging other younger swimmers. I have volunteered at Primary Schools, working one to one with children and in groups as well as volunteering at a Beaver Scout Group and have assisted at a Summer School for Year 6 students. These experiences have allowed me to motivate and build the confidence of children in activities they would not usually participate in or may need support with.
Although I still have another year at University to complete before I have Qualified Teacher Status I have heaps of experience in helping children of a range of ages with their learning. I believe children who have private tutoring, particularly in the holidays, benefit a great deal through keeping their learning mind stimulated and preparing themselves for going back to school. Children also benefit a great deal from this one to one support as this is something that is often unavailable in school due to staff numbers. I would love the opportunity to help a child in this way and prevent them from losing some of that knowledge they have worked so hard to gain.
I hope this information has been beneficial to you and I look forward to hearing from you.

Availability: I am flexible with timings over the holidays and am available most days. During term time my timings will change and this would need to be discussed at the time (evenings and weekends).

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: 2 years completed: BA (Hons) Primary Education with QTS - starting final year sept 2013.
Two teaching placements.
Worked as a Teaching Assistant for one year before starting my degree.
Volunteering in Primary Schools.
Worked at summer camps.
Tutoring a family friend.
Sports leader awards.
Head Student.

More Photos (1)

  This user has a total of 1 images, view them all in their Photo Gallery .


Nearby Locations

ArleseyBaldockCodicoteCotteredDatchworthIcklefordKnebworthLetchworthStevenageStotfoldWalkernWatton At StoneWestonArlesey Biology TutorsArlesey English TutorsArlesey Geography TutorsArlesey History TutorsArlesey Maths TutorsBaldock Biology TutorsBaldock English TutorsBaldock Geography TutorsBaldock History TutorsBaldock Maths TutorsCodicote Biology TutorsCodicote English TutorsCodicote Geography TutorsCodicote History TutorsCodicote Maths Tutors