Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsHumanities Lessons

Tom (Tutor in Eastbourne)

Tom
Tom
Tutor
Eastbourne, Sussex
Home Town: Eastbourne
Member Since: 28/05/2013
Last Login: 6 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

At Sussex Downs College I achieved A-Levels at grades A, B, B in Drama, Law, and Psychology respectively. I also was awarded a grade B AS-Level in Classical Civilization.

I also have a AA BTEC certificate in Performing Arts.

Most importantly - perhaps - I have a 1st in History at the University of Kent in my final year.

Information about Tom

I am a student of History at University of Kent, currently conducting research for my dissertation a comparative analysis of 19th century British and American intellectual thought about imperialism. Anyway, other than that i am also keenly involved in my local community radio station - CSRFM - and am the current Programming Manager, which means looking after the schedule of shows and those working on them. I also produce and present my own show weekly, showcasing local and underground talent I haven`t made any music myself but I do enjoy the technical side and am a self taught DJ.

Although I am out and about a lot, my main interests are reading and - occasionally - writing (though I`m not sure when if ever I will attempt to get published!). Literature is something else I am passionate about, aside from history of which the 19th century isn`t my only interest! In terms of sport I like to play tennis, and - though I am out of training at the moment - I really enjoy kickboxing. All in all, I think of myself as an approachable, committed and academic person. Hopefully that sums me up!

Availability: Start of July to start of September - and flexible on days in the week!

Willing to travel: 8 miles

Experience: At University I have had the opportunity to teach other members of my radio station, which although is removed from academic study has given me plenty of skills which can be transferred. Simply being a student means I have been in contact for the past years, on a daily basis with an educational environment, and have learned from others who have taught me.

Before University I was heavily involved in drama, which has given me invaluable skills of communication and so forth. The confidence and open-mindedness also help too, in dealing with questions and material (in teaching) with others on a similar wavelength most importantly keeping an energy and inquisitiveness in learning.

Going back a little further I did teach a class for two years before attending college in performing arts, and in teaching the children involved in that I did teach myself the patience and creativity necessary to tutor a subject. That subject for me to tutor now would most likely be History, based on my qualification, but I would be equally comfortable in English/ English Literature.

Whichever subject - or a selection of ones - is tutored, I have plenty of material, resources and fresh ideas!

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

EastbourneHailshamPevenseyPolegateEastbourne English TutorsEastbourne History TutorsHailsham English TutorsHailsham History TutorsPevensey English TutorsPevensey History TutorsPolegate English TutorsPolegate History Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.313 seconds
twitter    facebook