Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsBiology Tutors

Lee (Tutor in Gravesend)

Lee
Lee
Tutor
Gravesend, Kent
Home Town: Gravesend
Member Since: 24/06/2013
Last Login: 2 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

BSc
University of Sunderland
BSc (Hons) Microbiology & Biotechno...
2ii  (1995)

Information about Lee

Enthusiastic and passionate science/ICT teacher with over 10 years experience. Consistently good GCSE results which are higher than the national benchmark. Grade 1/2 (Outstanding) in classroom observations. Happy to teach in person or via Skype. I have a range of learning resources and practice materials provided free as part of my services.
 
After a happy and successful teaching career in the East midlands, I am moving to Gravesend Kent in August 2013 as my partner is expecting our first child in October.

Personality and approach
My students describe me as a warm, friendly, enthusiastic teacher who tries to make learning fun and relevant to their lives. I use analogies (or stories) to help students understand and remember basic fundamental principles and build upon this to deepen their understanding. I teach and use a number of memory tricks to help students remember and various revision techniques and practice as we progress through the year, stepping up the frequency of self-assessment as exams get nearer.

Availability: Available most days, evenings and weekends. Please allow two days notice and book early if you want evening appointments as I am quite busy at the moment. I am happy to travel and tutor in your house or meet in a public area such as a library. I am also happy to use Skype for sessions.

30 miles is about my limit in terms of distance for personal tuition - so if you are London based please feel free to contact me and ask. Don`t forget we could use Skype.

Willing to travel: 30 miles

Experience: Science
Lecturer in Further Education from 2001-2013. Taught on GCSE Double Science Award, biology, chemistry and physics I have taught entry level students to A `level (Level 3/4). My specialism is biology and GCSE level science where I have consistently helped students achieve A -C grades.

For the last five years I have coordinated and taught science on the LIVEs programme at Derby College. This was designed for students that missed out on their GCSE`s the first time around due bereavement, being home schooled, mental or physical illness or other legitimate reason. This was always focused on individual needs and abilities with an emphasis on hearts first, minds second to help students realise their full potential. The vast majority have achieved 5 grade C`s and above and gone on to A `level or apprenticeships/paid work.

ICT
Entry level to level 3. Are you an adult new to computers or need help using your new PC, laptop or tablet? Do you need help using Microsoft Office? I have a down to earth, straightforward, no nonsense approach to teaching that is fun and takes you from absolute novice to expert at a pace that suits you.

Ages
I have experience teaching from nursery age to mature adults.

I hold an up to date CRB (Police Check)

Additional needs
I have experience teaching students of differing abilities and needs for example dyslexia, Asperger`s, ADHD, visually impaired, deaf (hold BSL Level 2 certificate), Tourette`s amongst others.

I am also a self-confessed, obsessed fan of Shakespeare - do you need some help with a GCSE/A `level Shakespeare play?

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

East TilburyGravesendMeophamNew BarnNorthfleetShorneSouthfleetTilburyEast Tilbury Biology TutorsEast Tilbury Chemistry TutorsEast Tilbury Physics TutorsTilbury Biology TutorsTilbury Chemistry TutorsTilbury Physics TutorsGravesend Biology TutorsGravesend Chemistry TutorsGravesend Physics TutorsMeopham Biology TutorsMeopham Chemistry TutorsMeopham Physics TutorsNew Barn Biology TutorsNew Barn Chemistry TutorsNew Barn Physics Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.391 seconds
twitter    facebook