Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjects

Brian (Tutor in London)

Brian
Brian
Tutor
London, London
Home Town: London
Member Since: 23/03/2013
Last Login: 13 months ago
Response Rate: 60%
Expected Response: < 9 minutes

Qualifications

BSc
The University of Warwick
Mathematics
1st  (2015)
A Level
Clifton College
Maths
A*  (2012)
A Level
Clifton College
Further Mathematics
A*  (2012)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - unlike most other tuition websites Tutor Hunt takes zero commission
This tutor has provided no information about subjects

Information about Brian

I am a Mathematics graduate from the University of Warwick (graduated with First Class honours in 2015). It is my belief that Maths is one of the most important subject at school, but also something that could appear challenging to students. However, I believe with the right approach, everyone can understand Maths. I personally enjoy Maths a lot, but I also like seeing students learn and progress in Maths (and enjoy Maths as a bonus!)

I am originally from Taiwan, but I have been in the UK for 13+ years now. As a result, I am fluent in both English (with two A* English grades at GCSE) and Mandarin (my mother tongue).

I am an approachable, patient and adaptable person.

My rate is £20 per hour for tutees travelling to my location, or £25 per hour for travelling to the tutee`s location.
Unfortunately, I don`t offer online tutoring, because I don`t think the standard of tutoring and experience is as good, and not as personalised.

Availability: **Due to an upcoming new job, I will only be available over the summer holidays**

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Experience: This will be my third year on TutorHunt I have had 5 students in the previous 2 years. I have taught various students from secondary school up till A-level further mathematics throughout my time at school, most of which I managed to raise their grades to at least an A grade and helped them in securing places at their first choice universities. I have also volunteered in assisting to teach a year 3 class as part of a community service program at school, so I am very experienced in teaching Maths. I have prepared Maths lectures for my peers as well as revision guides for the students that I`ve taught previously. In addition, I have also assisted peers at the university on degree level maths, helping them with their understanding. But I also like to learn myself while teaching different students to further improve on my approach to tutoring.

I like to tailor my teaching to the student`s needs, because I believe that is the benefit of private tutoring, and provides real value for your money. I think it`s essential to firstly understand where and why the student have particular problems or barriers in understanding, and engage it from a different perspective, perhaps visualising the problem or draw a comparison with real life situations to help the student understand. Communication with the student will play a vital part here, so ensuring the student is comfortable is something that I value a lot.

Maths is a subject where we build on our existing knowledge, so ensuring that the student has a solid understanding of the previous foundations of Maths is vital in learning new materials.

We then proceed to tackling exam style questions and papers, working together on harder problems and noting down errors whilst learning techniques. I also give all my students a copy of the relevant module revision notes which I have written in the past, but modified slightly to help each student in the areas they specifically need help on. My aims are to help tutees reach a level of achieving the top set of grades in the given exams, as I believe with careful guidance and good understanding, every student can be good and able at Maths.

Finally, in my opinion, one of the most important thing to do in Maths is to practice the techniques repeatedly, because learning the theory and applying it are different.

I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for your time.


Nearby Locations

All SaintsCanary WharfHeron QuaysPoplarSouth QuayTower HamletsWest India QuayWestferry
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.141 seconds
twitter    facebook