Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsHistory Tutors

Andy (Tutor in Halifax)

Andy
Andy
Tutor
Halifax, Yorkshire
Home Town: Halifax
Member Since: 15/09/2019
Last Login: 3 months ago
Response Rate: 100%
Expected Response: < 19 minutes
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

PGCert
The University of Hull
Postgraduate Certfificate in Herita...
Distinction  (2017)
PGCE
University of Leeds
PGCE Primary
Pass  (2015)
MA
The University of Huddersfield
History
Distinction  (2014)
BA
The University of Huddersfield
History
First  (2011)
Verification Status
This user has been ID checked
We have verified this users DBS
How references rated Andy
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Andy

I am a fully qualified teacher, currently teaching at a prestigious local preparatory school and a PhD student. I completed a BA in History at the University of Huddersfield, gaining a 1st and being awarded the prize for `Best Medieval Performance`. I was then awarded a scholarship to return to the university for an MA in History for which I gained a Distinction. Following this I undertook a PGCE in Primary Education at the University of Leeds, graduating in 2015. I am currently a PhD student at the University of Huddersfield, studying History on an Arts and Humanities Research Council scholarship as part of the Heritage Consortium. As part of this I also completed a Postgraduate Certificate in Heritage Research for which I gained a Distinction. During my PhD I have worked part-time at a local `Outstanding` school. As I am now in the final stages of writing up my thesis I have worked full-time this past year as a Teacher Leader and History Subject Leader at a prestigious local prep-school.

As a person i am calm, professional and polite with a good sense of humour and a positive outlook. Outside of education I have a wealth of experience in the financial, retail and recruitment sectors.

Availability: Weekdays / Evening / Weekends

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Experience: I have experience in tutoring all age ranges and helping to improve results. My most recent tuttee went from a U to an A grade in the modules I worked with him on.

I have recently completed a PGCE in Primary Education with Qualified Teacher Status at the University of Leeds. During this course I received grades of `Outstanding` in all school placements. Following this I have worked in a local `Outstanding` school and currently work in a highly-regarded prep-school.

I have also had well over 200 hours experience on placements in schools. I spent the majority of this within the history department of Crossley Heath School (my old school), acting effectively as a Teaching Assistant. I followed this with a placement in the humanities department at Sowerby Bridge High School.

I have an in-depth knowledge of the new curriculum and a bank of current resources to aid effective teaching.
I have also spent many years acting as a martial arts coach and am confident in my ability to work with young people of all ages and really get the best out of them.

To add to my skills i have recently gained a certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language for UK-TEFL and would be more than willing to tutor this as well.

As well as my academic experience i have a wealth of employment experience and would be happy to help any tutees with CVs, Job Applications, Interviews etc.

My approach will adapt to serve the needs of the tutee and work will be tailored to serve their individual needs. For those still in education who wish to improve their marks, the work we do will be based on fulfilling the requirements of the curriculum and act to support what happens during school time. For the casual leaner or undergraduate we can discuss individual needs/goals.

My price reflects not only my expertise, but also the preparation time to ensure each student gets the maximum value during their time spent with me. I will always be prepared and ready to help my tutees accomplish their goals and deepen their understanding.

In addition to academic tutoring I am also happy to work with people on CV`s, Personal Statements etc. Having worked in a range of employment sectors including recruitment, I have experience in this area.

I also offer tuition in small groups (max 4) at a rate of £30 ph per person

Please free feel to contact me to discuss what requirements you might have.

DBS (CRB) Check: Yes

Contact this Tutor

Nearby Locations

BarkislandHalifaxHaworthHebden BridgeSowerby BridgeBarkisland English TutorsBarkisland Maths TutorsHalifax English TutorsHalifax History TutorsHalifax Maths TutorsHaworth English TutorsHaworth History TutorsHaworth Maths TutorsHebden Bridge English TutorsHebden Bridge History TutorsHebden Bridge Maths TutorsSowerby Bridge English TutorsSowerby Bridge Maths Tutors
© 2005-2020 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.424 seconds
twitter    facebook