Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Eleanor

Eleanor
Eleanor
Tutor
Oxfordshire
Home Town:
Member Since: 20/10/2015
Last Login: 7 months ago
Response Rate: 25%
Expected Response: < 12 hours

My Qualifications

BA
Oxford University
Archaeology
First Class Degree  (2019)
A Level
Westminster School
Economics
A*  (2015)
A Level
Westminster School
Religious Studies
A  (2015)
A Level
Westminster School
English
A*  (2015)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Eleanor
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Information about Eleanor

Hi there, I`m an Oxford graduate of Archaeology and Anthropology. I have been tutoring and supporting children informally for a long time. I am focused on tutoring 11+, 13+, GCSE and A-level in English and the Humanities, as well as University application. I`m warm and empathetic, and understand the ups and downs involved in education and exam pressure. As a result, I always take the time to understand the individual frustrations and needs of the tutee, and tailor my teaching to them. My interests include visual arts, literature, public speaking, drama, football (I`ve been asked to come back and help coach the Westminster girls 1st X1) and fencing (represented the Scottish Under 19 women`s epee team at two international competitions).

Last year I ran a social enterprise which encouraged young people to express themselves with creative literature, specifically written and performance poetry so am very used to discussing and nurturing creative writing in particular. Similarly, literary analysis is a particular strength, achieving an A* equivalent at Cambridge Pre-U and helping many people in my year with their dissertations. I love discussing all go the different interpretations of a text over a cup of tea! In addition to A-level work, I`m very used to tutoring at GCSE level. I am also able to tutor those with learning difficulties, for example having tutored one girl so far with both dyslexia and disgraphia through 11+ English and Maths, after which she achieved her top choice of secondary school.

When I first meet a tutee, I build a rapport and then assess where the gaps in their knowledge lie. After finding out exactly what they need, I focus on how they like to learn to make it an engaging experience. With the involvement of the student, I put together a proposed learning plan which I then tweak further with parental involvement(depending on age). This can be further amended as we progress and goals are achieved. My approach is structured but imaginative, so it`s never boring!

Availability: Flexible

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening

Eleanor
Eleanor

Nearby Locations

AppletonCumnorEynshamFreelandKidlingtonLong HanboroughLongworthNorth LeighSouthmoorStonesfieldWoodstockYarntonAppleton Economics TutorsAppleton English TutorsAppleton Maths TutorsCumnor Economics TutorsCumnor English TutorsCumnor Maths TutorsEynsham Economics TutorsEynsham English TutorsEynsham Maths TutorsFreeland Economics TutorsFreeland English TutorsFreeland Maths TutorsKidlington Economics TutorsKidlington English TutorsKidlington Maths Tutors