Sign Up
Tutor Hunt on twitter Tutor Hunt on facebook

Tutor HuntSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Ruqayyah (Tutor in London)

Ruqayyah
Ruqayyah
Tutor
London, london
Feedback Score:
+1
Member Since: 01/11/2016
Last Login: 10 months ago
Response Rate: 30%
Expected Response: < 3 hours
Contact this Tutor

Qualifications

BA
The University of Liverpool
Modern European Languages (French,...
1st with Distinction  (2015)
Verification Status
How references rated Ruqayyah
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelDegreeAdult LearnerMentor
Efl--£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00-
English-----£18.00-
French£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00-
Italian£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00-
Piano------£18.00
Spanish£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00£18.00-
Information about Ruqayyah

Hi there, my name is Kaya (pronounced K-eh-yya) and I`m a Merseyside-based language-lover!

Having taught me to recite Classical Arabic by the age of five, it was my mother, of Indo-Pakistani heritage, who opened the door to my tutoring career. From conversing with her side of the family (and watching the odd Bollywood film!) I also managed to pick up bits of Urdu and Hindi along the way.

I moved to Normandy for a few months, studied at the Paris-Sorbonne University for part of my degree at Liverpool and also worked as a journalist for one of Southern Spain`s main newspapers. I graduated with a first in French and Italian and a first with distinction in Spanish from the University of Liverpool in 2015, then going on to work as a broadcast journalist and to continue tutoring.

I like to think I`m a more vibrant, friendly and motivating teacher for having had the experiences I have. From hiking the tallest mountain in the Sierra Nevada to watch a meteor shower to wading through a bog in Brittany to find crabs, I like to believe the wonderful life experiences languages have given me can inspire and ignite passion in others to learn languages too! I`m a very family-orientated person and in my spare time, I like bouldering and hiking, art and nature photography, cooking for family and friends, dancing, playing the piano, doing yoga and gardening - I could go on!

Availability: I`m flexible!

As I hope is clear from my profile, I`m not your average tutor - I like to think the balance I achieve between flexible, down-to-earth, structured and encouraging creates a comfortable approach that will put any student at ease, regardless of age, ability or aims - I believe trust, enjoyment and comfort are essential in learning anything effectively. I can teach for exam success, for fun or for work and business.

While I always tailor my classes to your objectives and strengths, how you learn most effectively and what you`re going to use your language skills for, I also aim to create some kind of structure to help you come away feeling accomplished.

I like to use a variety of different materials (everything from grammar drills to flash cards and mnemonics to past papers), depending on whether you`re a visual, audio or kinaesthetic learner. I also think language-learning should be challenging and engaging as well as fun and rewarding, so I use feedback sheets to make sure students feel comfortable with asking for change in their teaching style should they need it.

For students sitting exams or looking to boost their grades, I`m familar with WJEC, AQA, OCR and EDEXCEL. I can prepare you for oral, writing, reading and listening exams by working through exercises using a variety of materials, especially past papers. I can either comprehensively cover all key areas or focus intensively on any one of the following: the necessary components of grammar, grammar constructions, topic-specific vocabulary, comprehension, pronunciation (accent, stress). I also provide handy tips to impress examiners (polishing off punctuation, throwing in idioms and expressions, adding appropriate non-lexical utterances to fill pauses, complex grammar constructions, specialised vocab etc).

For more informal improvement in conversation skills, for example, I can provide similar assistance in a more relaxed structure, as well as articles, news or other materials of your interest to discuss in your chosen language.

Willing to travel: 20 miles

Experience: As well as preparing secondary school pupils and sixth form students to improve their grades and pass their `AS` or `A2` exams, or simply to bump up their existing language skills, I have also taught many learners of differing abilities and ages...

I`ve helped parents looking to give their little ones a head-start in a new lingo, adult learners keen to pick up a new skill, to chat while on holiday or to travel and those wanting to learn languages for business or for work - and I`ve just taught for fun!

I`ve been tutoring privately for five years.

Contact this Tutor
Feedback For Ruqayyah (1)
We have a total of 1 review(s) for Ruqayyah.

Deborah (Mrs)
27/02/2017

5/5 Rating

Rugayyah, excellent, very happy with my tutor. would recommended
Deborah


Nearby Locations

Bow ChurchBow RoadLimehouseMile EndStepneyBow Church English TutorsBow Church French TutorsBow Church Piano TutorsBow Church Spanish TutorsBow Road English TutorsBow Road French TutorsBow Road Piano TutorsBow Road Spanish TutorsLimehouse English TutorsLimehouse French TutorsLimehouse Piano TutorsLimehouse Spanish TutorsMile End English TutorsMile End French TutorsMile End Piano Tutors
© 2005-2019 Tutor Hunt - All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy | Copyright | Terms of Service
loaded in 0.422 seconds
twitter    facebook