Tutor HuntSubjectsMaths Tutors

Luke (Tutor in Sheffield)

Luke
Luke
Tutor
Sheffield, Yorkshire
Home Town: Sheffield
Member Since: 13/04/2017
Last Login: 16 months ago
Response Rate: 65%
Expected Response: < 2 hours

My Qualifications

A Level
Oldham Sixth Form Coll...
Maths
A*  (2016)
A Level
Oldham Sixth Form Coll...
Further Mathematics
A*  (2016)
A Level
Oldham Sixth Form Coll...
Music
B  (2016)
A Level
Oldham Sixth Form Coll...
French
C  (2016)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified

All rates listed here go directly to the tutor - we don't charge commission for this tutor.
Rates summary: 13.00 to 28.00 per hour
PrimaryKS3GCSEA-LevelAdult Learner
Entrance Exams---£18-
Maths£15£18£26£28£13

Information about Luke

I am a student at the University of Sheffield, studying Mathematics! I admit to loving Maths, and I have a passion for helping my students exceed their goals, as well as inspiring students to follow the subject further!

I am particularly confident tutoring Edexcel A Level Mathematics/Further Mathematics, as well as AQA GCSE Maths/Music, as these were the exam boards I sat my own exams under. I have past experience tutoring A Level and GCSE students, particulalrly maths, and would love to do it again!

At Sixth form, I was in a group preparing for the MAT and STEP Admissions tests, so I am more than willing to give some assistance in preparing for those, in addition to personal statemtents and University Applications in general.

In addition to my degree, I am a Scholar on the Future Teaching Scholars Programme, meaning I have recent and continuing experience working with Y7-Y13 students at a local Grammar School in the classroom, teaching and assiting teachers in Maths lessons. I have completed modules on "Effective Teaching Practice", "Preparing Lessons" and "National Curriculum Requirements in Mathematics", meaning I have a strong knowlegde on the current curriculum. Also, I have lots of experience working with Young People aged 11-18 by volunteering with a local Youth Group. Because of this and working in schools, I have a valid Enhanced DBS Certificate.

If you want to find out more, book a ‘Meet the Tutor’ session for free! I look forward to working with you!

Availability: I am available Monday-Thursday Weekday evenings, as well as times on Tuesday, Wednesday and Saturday during the day. Message me for more details and I`ll try and work around you!

Willing to travel: 2 miles

Experience: I am aware of many of the problems/misconceptions students have with various topics in Maths, so I easily anticipate and prevent them. I believe this is the key to being an excellent tutor, as well as giving clear explanations, making the subject relevant to life and not being a dull speaker!

My teachers challenged me to not only be able to do things, but to understand how things work. I try to include this in my own tutoring, giving you the confidence to ace your exams because you understand the concepts rather than just "knowing" how to do it. I will quickly revise content we`ve been over before at the start of tutorials to keep the whole syllabus in your mind, to draw connections between topics and understand how Maths is just one big web of info!

As your tutor, I will work in whatever way you want! I spend a long time tailoring each session to my students, asking students what they would like to cover in tutorials, as well as always being available to receive messages. If you`re not sure what to cover, I`ll help you figure out your weak spots or we can just go over the whole syllabus! If you`re happy with the syllabus, we can try some harder questions together (such as STEP or MAT questions). I can build a plan of work for you in advance of the tutorials to help plan what needs to be done. In addition, I have a lots of past papers and exam-style questions which can be used for revision, and I`ll mark and feedback on any work you`d like.

Contact this Tutor

Availability

 MoTuWeThFrSaSu
Morning
Afternoon
After School
Evening